We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fernwood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fernwood Manor
Ranked #5 of 27 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Fernwood Manor was a beautiful place, impeccable service and convenient location. My room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The common areas were comfortable and homely and the staff were just so helpful and accommodating and friendly. I would certainly stay here again if I'm able to come back to Cape Town. Breakfast was great too!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Clairesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
61
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I recently spent 9 relaxed and wonderful days at Fernwood Manor with my 2 daughters. Hats off to Sally and her very professional team. They are all absolutely first rate. Fernwood is quiet and tranquil. If you have never visited Cape Town, you should know that the location is just right. It is in close distance of everything you want to see. The breakfasts are excellent, the rooms super clean, and the pool area very comfortable with nice deck chairs. I can't think of anything to fault the service and welcome. Highly recommended. We shall be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tavli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Thank you to Ian, Aubrey and Celeste. You made our stay extra special with your hospitality and friendliness. Fernwood Manor itself is lovely, but the extra touches from you guys made it even more special. I would highly recommend Fernwood, clean, neat and fresh look. Well designed outside and lounge areas. Hope to see you again xx Dijana from Abalone

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeriwinkleLodge75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I was absolutely blown away by the picturesque and quaint Fernwood Manor. It was home away from home and I felt like a princess.

Be it for a holiday, work and/or both - Fernwood Manor caters to all your needs and is a great retreat at the end of a very busy day.

Sally, Emanuella, Ian, Aubrey and the rest of the team were attentive, professional and helpful at all times.

One can see that careful thought went into how to make their guests feel at home from the well-trained and professional staff to the beautifully decored rooms, lounges - right through to the umbrella that is outside should it be a rainy day.

Fernwood Manor is in short distance from Kirstenbosch Botannical Gardens, Cape Town International Airport, shopping malls - including Newlands Rugby and Cricket grounds.

I cannot think of anywhere else I'd rather stay when in Cape Town again for an extended stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Thank you Sally and the wonderful staff. Stunning views and very homely. Stayed for 2 nights in July and then travelled around SW cape. Wish we had spent our whole week there. Nothing could compare. We will be back.

Room Tip: No fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shainsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
506 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I chose Newlands, as it is convenient for both the city and Constantia. I arrived early, as I wanted to leave my bags, but that was no problem for Sally and her team
I was in room 4, which had a wonderful bathroom, with a huge freestanding bath, just what you need on a cold winter's night. Lots of space, fresh milk in the fridge, great bed linens and for summer, a nice balcony to relax on
But it is the people that make Fernwood. Sally is so willing to help, give you directions, phone to make reservations. There is a wealth of information in her study. The rest of the stalk, Aubrey, Ian and Celeste are just so charming and always on hand to help. They even made me a toasted sandwich one night, when I didn't want to go out
Breakfast was also excellent - a great buffet with lots of choice and cooked option. Ian cooks a mean omelette!
Wifi is free but the signal is best downstairs, but it was good enough
Newlands isn't everyone's first choice of area to stay in, but it's so central and there is a free shuttle to the Cavendish shopping mall (which is much better for shopping than the waterfront). I shall not be staying in the city centre again and will choose Fernwood Manor next time I visit

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed at Fernwood Manor for two weeks in April. The rooms are well-appointed and spotlessly clean. The grounds and pool area are lovely and well-cared for. There are a number of comfortable, charming sitting rooms indoors and two under covered verandas, so there is plenty of space to relax with a book or a drink. The staff are all excellent, very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is an experience not to be missed, not least because of the two very cool cooks, who anticipate your every need. Fernwood Manor is conveniently located in a beautiful suburb of Cape Town.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are more luxurious but also more expensive than the garden rooms. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
0.7 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Manor

Property: Fernwood Manor
Address: 35 Almond Street | Fernwood, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fernwood Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernwood is an elegant colonial style home in the leafy suburb of Newlands surrounded by lush greenery with wonderful mountain views. Our exclusive guest house, catering for no more than 16 guests, ensures warm friendly personal service in gracious and elegant surroundings.All with their own unique character, we offer exquisitely decorated air-conditioned rooms, king or twin bedded on request, most with balcony or garden patio. These superior luxury rooms with finely appointed bathrooms are complemented by two executive suites, The Almond and The Rose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fernwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Manor Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing