We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality that makes you feel so at home........”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain View Guest House
Ranked #22 of 29 Newlands B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Especially for a first timer in Cape Town like me, the guest house makes you feel so at home away from home. It all felt like I had not traveled.....that I was still home in my house in Nairobi, Kenya. I liked not only the fabric of the bed covers, the curtain, the view from the balcony that stared right at the mountain but, mostly importantly, the hospitality of Liz Wright (the manager/owner) who provided every thing I needed including necessary information whenever I needed some. I enjoyed meeting other guests during breakfast and catching up on their experiences. It was a great opportunity. Relaxing indeed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adipo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

The owner and hostess, Liz Wright, is the highlight of the house! She is engaging, warm and friendly at all hours of the day and night. During my stay she was always happy to offer suggestions of what to do and where to go, whereby sharing her love for Cape Town in the process. She even recounted much of the local history around her Newlands area: the Brewery, The Vineyard and Palmboom Properties, and the old artesian wells a few blocks from the house that are still servicing local Capetonians today.

Overall my stay was excellent. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and of good size. The balconies on the second floor offer great viewing of Table Mountain and the surrounding area. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Just a tip, the Egyptian Goose Suite has a private bathroom; in that is reserved for your use, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Liz is such a friendly host. The rooms are spacious and cosy with ensuite bathrooms. Very neat and welcoming. The view of the mountain from the balcony outside the bedrooms are spectacular. Definitely the place to stay when in Cape Town.

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank ShaaziaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This guesthouse has the virtue of being small but having excellent facilities. Each of the rooms has spacious "en suite" facilities matching the generous space of the bedrooms.
The furniture is of high quality and well maintained and the beds are most comfortable.
The owner/manager is most helpful and welcoming. She organised a magnificent tour of the area on the day of arrival of another guest and myself and later took me for a tour round the extensive nearby world famous gardens.
Being a small guest house, the continental breakfast was quiet and was available over a long time range. I was very lucky to be allocated to this place by Univy. of Cape Town.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Strathclyde7872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newlands hotels
0.1 mi away
Riversong Guest House
Riversong Guest House
#4 of 29 in Newlands
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,330 reviews
1.5 mi away
Number Four Park Lane
Number Four Park Lane
#20 of 29 in Newlands
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.6 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jaqui's Garden Guesthouse
Jaqui's Garden Guesthouse
#11 of 29 in Newlands
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Guest House

Address: 13 Sans Souci Road, Newlands, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Mountain View Guest House Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing