We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”
Review of Hedge House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hedge House
Ranked #2 of 30 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Judy is a very attentive and warm host, and Betty is one mean cook! I especially recommend the breakfasts at Hedge House. Caper, the new pug puppy, is just too cute as well! She is the latest addition to the other very child-friendly dogs. The guesthouse is within walking distance of both the rugby and cricket stadiums, and just a short drive to multiple shopping malls and town. Even though it is in a vibrant, busy area it feels secluded and is removed from the regular traffic noise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adeblocq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you Joe and Gemma for your review and for the flowers!
Also for joining the party!
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Excellent place for relaxation and quite time in a peaceful secure neighbourhood. The peace and tranquillity provided by the beautiful scenic garden, the tangible smell of the fresh herbs and flowers, the sweet melodies of chirping birds reminded you of the natural surroundings provided by a country side home. Upon arrival the warm and friendly welcome by Judy, the staff and the dogs made us feel right at home. We were overwhelmed as we entered our spacious room to find fresh cut roses and chocolate on each pillow. We were impressed by the cleanliness and tidiness. Not forgetting the fine detail and quality of the bedding and towelling, well stocked up daily with fresh fruit, tea, coffee, milk, juice and fresh cookies. The cottage feeling and the antiques in the dining room brought back sweet memories of my grandparents home. Overall the breakfast was well presented, sufficient and excellent. The house is comfortably situated within walking distance from Cavendish Square and the Newlands Cricket and Rugby grounds. Overall our stay was excellent, I would definitely recommend The Hedge to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights with our two children at the Hedge House and we loved it. The house owner Jude, really makes the effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The clean rooms are spacious and lovely decorated and so much care for detail. Fresh flowers in the room and the home made cookies were delicious. The breakfast was extraordinary!!! Here again, you could see the love she puts in the table setting and the beautiful way of presenting the food or eggs :-)
It’s all quality and even the biologic soap/shampoo/lotion in the bathroom were so nice.
It feels so homey and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. Judy was extremely friendly and always available to help guests. The kids loved to play with the dogs, they were absolutely no trouble.
Hedge House is well located and just a short drive to the city centre or restaurants closely. I would definitely return and highly recommend it 200% !!! The most lovely B&B I ever stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you all for staying at Hedge House and for your generous review.
Beautiful photos too!!
We loved meeting you all.
Warm regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Hi. Fantastic location. Rooms large & very comfortable. Beds exceptional. Breakfasts great. Hospitality 1st class. Will not hesitate to return or recommend as a short or long stayover for families, couples or singles. Note that there are friendly dogs on the premises, they are kid friendly.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms accessed by tight spiral staircases, don't choose these if you have difficulty wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you Adam and Colleen for your prompt review and encouragement.
It was really good to meet you both.
Warm regards and all the best for 2014.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hedge House is an exquisite accommodation in the southern suburbs of Cape Town. It is nestled in a quite neighborhood in Newlands with access to most amenities and attractions. Judy and her staff are very accommodating without being intrusive. The facilities are finely appointed with thought and attention to detail. It was a great stay and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shame F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hedge House had all the comforts & feel of home. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom facilities were faultless, the location was quiet & the food exquisite. The owner was very professional & engaging. Not a single complaint comes to mind. Highly recommended for when travelling to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haydn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you Haydn for reviewing Hedge House.
I appreciated your acute observations!
Warm regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I really enjoyed my time at Hedge House. The room was spacious, neat and well-kept. The breakfast was extraordinary and the owner Judy was extremely friendly and always available to help guests. You can also order dinner at Hedge House which I found to be absolutely delicious! Hedge House is well located and in a lovely scenic neighborhood. I would definitely return and highly recommend it whether you are a business traveler or on vacation or traveling with family
( including children).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you Christa (and Sage) for your review.
I do hope you'll return in 2014.
All the best, Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newlands hotels
1 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 30 in Newlands
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oak and Vine Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riversong Guest House
Riversong Guest House
#6 of 30 in Newlands
189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fernwood Manor
Fernwood Manor
#4 of 30 in Newlands
177 reviews
1.8 mi away
CapeAngel Guesthouse
CapeAngel Guesthouse
#7 of 30 in Newlands
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedge House

Address: 12 Argyle Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range: £93 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedge House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star guest house in the peaceful suburb of Newlands, is a 10-minute drive from Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, University of Cape Town and Cape Town's city centre. It features uninterrupted Table Mountain views and an outdoor salt-water pool.Our five rooms have their own private entrances and free WiFi. They include a microwave, a kettle, a refrigerator and a work desk. All rooms have a bath and shower.Hedge House guests enjoy a rich breakfast prepared with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Breakfast is served outdoors on the patio, in your room or in the dining room.There is also a recreational area for children, equipped with a trampoline and a swing, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lounge area and on the veranda. The hotel's garden (as well as room 4) has panoramic views of Table Mountain and is wheelchair accessible. Hedge House is located at the foot of Table Mountain and is a 5-minute walk from The Newlands Cricket and Rugby Stadiums. Cape Town International Airport is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hedge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedge House Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing