We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steaks Just how you like them”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barristers

Barristers
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Newlands
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Grill, Bar, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Barristers is an institution in the Southern suburbs of Cape Town. Having been founded in 1980, Barristers is in the heart of Newlands Village and is an old favorite of locals and international visitors alike. From the deck which looks out over the village circle, through the lively pub and into the welcoming Grill and Tudor Rooms, we offer good old fashioned values at reasonable prices. Barristers has a comprehensive menu, extensive range of draught beers and a huge wine list. Good Food, Great Wine, Warm Friends is a motto we believe in emphatically.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Steaks Just how you like them”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have been to Barristers on many occasions, in summer it is a lively friendly busy pub with a secret, great great steaks. What more can a boy ask for? Try it you will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Barristers, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Barristers. We appreciate your feedback and assure you of the best service and food at all times. We look forward in seeing you again soon. Have a wonderful day, the "Barristers Team" :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    139
    50
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Our local whilst in Newlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Consistently good food, wine, atmosphere, hospitality and value for money. Never once have we been disappointed with Barristers and the owner, Lance, has become a friend !!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great pub / bar - good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We dropped in from our local guesthouse for a bite to eat. This was a good choice. Food and service were great. Staff very good and attentive. Owner / manager was welcoming. The drinks were reasonably priced and the food was well cooked and tasty. All in all I'd recommend this to anyone wanting good food (not pretentious) and drinks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilkoHastings_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Barristers, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Barristers. We appreciate your feedback and assure you of the best service and food at all times. We look forward in seeing you again soon. Have a wonderful day, the "Barristers Team" :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Long lunches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Always busy and for good reason. The service is friendly and the food good. An ideal spot for a long lunch in a lively atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shireen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Front Office Manager at Barristers, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Barristers. We appreciate your feedback and assure you of the best service and food at all times. We look forward in seeing you again soon. Have a wonderful day, the "Barristers Team" :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Barristers, been around for decades, old faithful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Three old friends decided to indulge in a Christmas dinner at an old favourite. Friday evening, festive season and packed with patrons, the staff were friendly fun and attentive. The food was great and service quick. Choice of foods was more than sufficient ,,, amid the light-hearted warm atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Barristers, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Barristers. We appreciate your feedback and assure you of the best service and food at all times. We look forward in seeing you again soon. Have a wonderful day, the "Barristers Team" :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barristers also viewed

Newlands, Cape Town
 
Newlands, Cape Town
Newlands, Cape Town
 

Been to Barristers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing