We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value pub lunches”
Review of Barristers

Barristers
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Newlands
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Barristers is an institution in the Southern suburbs of Cape Town. Having been founded in 1980, Barristers is in the heart of Newlands Village and is an old favorite of locals and international visitors alike. From the deck which looks out over the village circle, through the lively pub and into the welcoming Grill and Tudor Rooms, we offer good old fashioned values at reasonable prices. Barristers has a comprehensive menu, extensive range of draught beers and a huge wine list. Good Food, Great Wine, Warm Friends is a motto we believe in emphatically.
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Nice local pub lunches. A nice big selection of meals for quick on the go times, for R45. Nice atmosphere. Hands on owner. Pleasant atmosphere. Never had a bad meal yet. Wonderful cold beer.

1  Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Barristers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hi Cindy, thank you for the great review. We are pleased you had a good experience and look forward to serving you in the near future :) The Barristers Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 290 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

I can heartily recommend this pub/restaurant with a relaxed and congenial vibe. It seems always to be busy with locals and serves excellent food, as well as a good variety of beers and wines. Both the sirloin steak and Karoo lamb were delicious, but best of all is the service – incredibly friendly and helpful, but highly professional

Thank amm1u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Barristers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for the great review! We look forward to serving you again. Have a fabulous week, The Barristers Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have been to Barristers on many occasions, in summer it is a lively friendly busy pub with a secret, great great steaks. What more can a boy ask for? Try it you will not be disappointed.

Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Barristers, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Barristers. We appreciate your feedback and assure you of the best service and food at all times. We look forward in seeing you again soon. Have a wonderful day, the "Barristers Team" :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Consistently good food, wine, atmosphere, hospitality and value for money. Never once have we been disappointed with Barristers and the owner, Lance, has become a friend !!

Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We dropped in from our local guesthouse for a bite to eat. This was a good choice. Food and service were great. Staff very good and attentive. Owner / manager was welcoming. The drinks were reasonably priced and the food was well cooked and tasty. All in all I'd recommend this to anyone wanting good food (not pretentious) and drinks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MilkoHastings_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Barristers, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Barristers. We appreciate your feedback and assure you of the best service and food at all times. We look forward in seeing you again soon. Have a wonderful day, the "Barristers Team" :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barristers also viewed

Newlands, Cape Town
 
Newlands, Cape Town
Newlands, Cape Town
 

Been to Barristers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing