We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Quite Meet The Mark”
Review of Rondebosch Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rondebosch Manor
Ranked #24 of 29 Newlands B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Didn't Quite Meet The Mark”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I checked in, dropped off my bags to the room and left to go and have dinner. When I returned to the property, there were a few issues with my initial room, however I couldn't address them until the next morning because the staff disappear after a certain time. I spoke with the owners the next day about the issues and requested a room change which they granted. Upon moving to the new room, they had already began to address the issues I pointed out in the first room. The Spa has not been operational for some time now.

Restaurants and store in walking distance. Staff were great at suggesting nearby places to visit. Rooms didn't offer much of a view. Rooms are much nicer on website than in person. Ended up staying 4 nights only because of a busy schedule.

As a female who travels often with a particular standard in mind, this place didn't quite do it for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Tequila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This establishment is VERY far off calling itself a FOUR star bed and breakfast - my room was dark, had a view of black trolley bins and the very noisy road, 1 tiny bar of soap between the shower and basin, no wastepaper bin in the bedroom, no tea or water and the room itself was in need of urgent maintenance. Old office furniture and mismatched furniture has been used throughout. My colleagues' room was filthy and they received 1 thread bare towel for 2 people. The window has no security and opens onto the busy road which has a very low wall. I had no batteries in my remote and the bedside light did not work. When I went to ask if I could get batteries and some tea, myself and another guest were left to look for ourselves as there was nobody available.
Another couple traveling with us were told telephonically the day before their arrival, that there was no accommodation for them, despite them having confirmed.
This is suitable for a STUDENT or OVERSEAS YOUTH traveling who is expecting basic accommodation.
The price is the same of some exceptional and magnificent Bed and Breakfasts in the area.
The night time noise was constant.
When I asked for a business card, there were non at reception - this place needs a serious look at its level of professionalism, maintenance and the market.
I wonder how the rating of four stars has been kept for so long and not reviewed...

Room Tip: Do not stay on the road side as it is exceptionally noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FRAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newlands hotels

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I've been there for one week in february 2013 and I really feel at home. The staff are very friendly and efficient, the room is cozy and spacious. You have also a free Wi-fi, a simple but well prepared breakfast and night meals.

I really enjoyed my stay and I recommend to everyone that would like to feel at home in Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDalcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed at Rondebosch Manor for 3 weeks in February 2012 whilst working in Cape Town. My room was very spacious, always well cleaned and tidied. A few teething problems with WiFi were quickly resolved and I had very fast, free Internet throughout.
Breakfast was fairly simple but very well prepared. An honesty bar was a good touch. I also availed myself of the laundry service, which was fast and efficient.
The staff were extremely friendly. Johnny and Jane (owners) made me feel extremely welcome, as did Hein (manager), who was also extremely efficient and helpful.
Location is ideal, and only 10 minutes' drive to most of the Cape Town attractions, 5 minutes from the University. Free on-site parking was a real bonus. I didn't use the small plunge pool out front, but it looked clean and well looked after.
All in all, I really can't exaggerate how much i enjoyed my stay. I recommend it to anyone, and will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_C_and_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
0.3 mi away
Mantra
Mantra
#213 of 509 in Cape Town
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedge House
Hedge House
#2 of 29 in Newlands
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
1.1 mi away
Number Four Park Lane
Number Four Park Lane
#20 of 29 in Newlands
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rondebosch Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondebosch Manor

Property: Rondebosch Manor
Address: 122/4 Camp Ground Road | Rondebosch, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rondebosch Manor situated in one of Cape Town’s historic Suburbs. Within easy access to major roads and freeways, it's the perfect base from which to explore Cape Town and its surrounds: Table Mountain, the City Centre and V&A Waterfront are just 10 minutes drive away, and reaching Cape Town International Airport takes only 15 minutes. For designer shopping, the exclusive Cavendish Square Shopping Centre is within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rondebosch Manor Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing