We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place...come if you can”

The Gardeners Cottage Restaurant & Coffee Shop
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chailey, Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little place...come if you can”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I had breakfast here twice in one week. It does serve lunch too but I can only review breakfast.
The location is next to the Monte Bello Design centre so it's a place you can spend sometime mooching about before or after you eat.
I had the most enormous delicious fruit, granola, yoghurt and honey breakfast dish twice. It has a varied menu and lots of home baked cakes and biscuits as well as eggs, toast, salads etc.
Plenty of outside seating under the natural shade of trees if you have warm weather.
Can thoroughly recommend coming here, off the main tourist track if you have time.
It's well placed if you were visiting Kirstenbosch gardens.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joannahands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    49
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We love this little place, it is especially nice in summer when you can sit outside under the trees. The food has always been good and the service although not perfect is very sincere and friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank travel19491955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great start to the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

There were 6 of us for breakfast and the choice of food was so good I think we all had something different. The full English was enough to sustain till dinner time whilst the lighter granola/ yoghurt & fruit options were delightful; satisfying but not too filling. The teas and coffees kept coming and the time flew by. A perfect start to a beautiful day in a lovely garden setting. I recommend booking at the weekend

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Had a very good breakfast at the Gardeners Cottage in Newlands. A lovely location set in a cottage (funny that) amidst massive tress. They have a very family orientated, outdoor eating area as well.
The Eggs Benedict was great and the cappuccino was creamy. Really a lovely spot.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Dejeuner sous les arbres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Met there with friends on a hot Sunday at the end of December: the trees offer great cover both for the tables in the restaurant and in the car park (big plus for the really helpful attendants). Have been before so knew what to expect: really good food cooked fresh with interesting twists. Between us we had two Fish Pies (Kingklip and Mushroom in a dill sauce), a sushi stack, and the house salad with 'salami' that s like spiced cottage cheese. All was really good: and for desert one of us wanted a plain pancake with lemon and icing sugar (not on the menu though there were many very complicated crepes involving ice cream, chocolate sauce, berries, fruit and mint). The response was "No problem" which summed up the service: helpful, friendly, attentive and the sense that it was more than just a day job. Good touch was, as we finished the first bottle of La Motte Sauvignon Blanc and it turned out that there was not another cold one in the place, we were offered taster glasses of two alternates. They didn't need to do that! All in all, a very enjoyable three and a half hours went by too quickly. Booking recommended if you want to be out under the trees.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gardeners Cottage Restaurant & Coffee Shop also viewed

Newlands, Cape Town
Newlands, Cape Town
 
Newlands, Cape Town
 

Been to The Gardeners Cottage Restaurant & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing