We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The Gardeners Cottage Restaurant & Coffee Shop
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We (three generations) have been coming to The gardeners Cottage for twelve years now and we have never had a bad meal here.

The food is always beautifully prepared and the staff, unwaveringly friendly and efficient - It is no wonder it is always full.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSmithTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    50
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chailey, Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little place...come if you can”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I had breakfast here twice in one week. It does serve lunch too but I can only review breakfast.
The location is next to the Monte Bello Design centre so it's a place you can spend sometime mooching about before or after you eat.
I had the most enormous delicious fruit, granola, yoghurt and honey breakfast dish twice. It has a varied menu and lots of home baked cakes and biscuits as well as eggs, toast, salads etc.
Plenty of outside seating under the natural shade of trees if you have warm weather.
Can thoroughly recommend coming here, off the main tourist track if you have time.
It's well placed if you were visiting Kirstenbosch gardens.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joannahands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always good.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We love this little place, it is especially nice in summer when you can sit outside under the trees. The food has always been good and the service although not perfect is very sincere and friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank travel19491955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great start to the day”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

There were 6 of us for breakfast and the choice of food was so good I think we all had something different. The full English was enough to sustain till dinner time whilst the lighter granola/ yoghurt & fruit options were delightful; satisfying but not too filling. The teas and coffees kept coming and the time flew by. A perfect start to a beautiful day in a lovely garden setting. I recommend booking at the weekend

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty Breakfast”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Had a very good breakfast at the Gardeners Cottage in Newlands. A lovely location set in a cottage (funny that) amidst massive tress. They have a very family orientated, outdoor eating area as well.
The Eggs Benedict was great and the cappuccino was creamy. Really a lovely spot.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gardeners Cottage Restaurant & Coffee Shop also viewed

Newlands, Cape Town
Newlands, Cape Town
 
Newlands, Cape Town
 

Been to The Gardeners Cottage Restaurant & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing