We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and location”
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We would recommend this hotel to anyone - the staff were all really helpful and the accommodation was fantastic. We had a room with a floor to ceiling window overlooking Table mountain - it was a spectacular view to wake up to. This hotel is about 10 mins by taxi from the bustle of Cape Town but it feels really tranquil. It is set in lovely grounds with 2 resident giant tortoises !! The hotel restaurants are also very good and the spa is again great. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of Table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellow111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

Have stayed at The Vineyard for many years and continue to enjoy each and every stay.
The setting beneath table mountain is stunning and the lovely gardens and patios make the most of the wonderful views and have become very popular with guests and locals alike for sundowners and afternoon teas,however,it is the outstanding breakfasts which really set the Vineyard apart,beautiful fresh fruits,cold plates of every description including smoked salmon and hot plates of a wide variety of choices.The breakfast is more than sufficient to nourish any visitor until a delightful dinner in the Square Restaurant.All in all the complete hotel,wonderful ambience coupled with superb old fashioned service make The Vineyard a much better choice than many of its higher rated and much more expensive rivals in Capetown.Will be back!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing table mountain are generally the best although there is a hefty premium for some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great looking hotel on the outside with a fabulous location but I was specatularly underwhelmed by my room. Although large, it was dated in terms of its decor and its bathroom and I struggled to get any hot water coming through the shower. The food is good for breakfast and in the evenings but as a woman on a business trip, the remote location was not that great. That said it was good enough just not great.

Room Tip: Dont settle for room 321 as this is right next to the lift shaft and quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FergieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Try finding room 252. If you ever stay here you know what I mean. But the search is worth it. The interior is excellent and the mountain view simply breathtaking. Eating at the Square restaurant was a pleasure - the Springbok Wellington fantastic. Breakfast was brilliant. This is a seriously great hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was our second stay at the Vineyard and we were very pleased to be able to say that standards have remained very high in all areas of the hotel. We had a room facing the mountain but this time went for one on the second floor which gave us a much better view. We had most of our meals in and the quality and presentation of the food was very good. Service can be a bit quirky - we had great problems getting sets of cutlery for breakfast one morning, and it took about three phone calls and several visits from well-meaning staff to eventually get a bottle opener delivered to the room. The terrace outside the main building gets very busy particularly at lunchtimes but if you stroll through to the pool area there is a very pleasant bar which serves both drinks and light meals. We thought we had hit the service problem again when coffees failed to arrive at our poolside chairs but when they did it came with apologies and no charge because of the delay. Best deal in food was the Tasting Menu, which comes with an excellent selection of wines, but we can also recommend the eggs at breakfast which are prepared freshly to your requirements.
We used the car service a couple of times and the standards of drivers and cars were very good. One of us had a mild health problem which needed advice from a doctor. It was a Sunday morning at around 9.00 when I spoke to the concierge - a quick phone call, a trip across the road to the local surgery, advice and a prescription and back to the breakfast table by 9.15 with the problem resolved - well done Dr. Wood.
Oh, and that tortoise ... which strolled up the steps of the terrace into the hotel and turned right into the kitchen. Moments later it re-emerged in the arms of a very strong chap who deposited it safely back on the lawn - great entertainment.
A bonus if you have a later flight is that the hotel will do everything possible to give you a late check-out, a very helpful service.

Room Tip: Take a second floor room on the mountain side for a really good view - below that the rooms are bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed as a family ( 3 teenage kids) over the xmas period 2011. We we nicely surprised on arrival. The hotel is a mix of new building and the original Colonial style house. The hotel has a country club feel about it as it is relatively small compared to some of the larger Cape Town Hotels. We took 2 courtyard rooms and they were modern and very clean. They seem to have everything you needed including internet etc. The food is very good as well. We ate the first night in the Square restaurant, the food was very good, as was the wine. We are a family who usually ventures out each evening, we dont usually eat in the hotel, but i would definately recommend eating here. Also on offer is the terrace restaurant with a varied selection of food from light bites to more substantial food, as well as a Sushi menu. Next to this restaurant is a asian fusion restaurant which is also very nice. The breakfast buffet is fresh and plentiful, with a chef at an egg station along with an A La Carte menu, so there are many choices! The pool area is modern and quiet, and located by the gym if you fancy a workout! The poolside restaurant , again, is also good. The staff are all very helpful and try their best to help with any requests. Another plus, are the 2 resident giant tortoise which roam the pretty gardens also the peahens, all very charming! We think that for what you actually pay, it is value for money, in a city where some of the bigger name hotels really know how to charge.!! We will return!

Room Tip: Within the courtyard room category they have a couple of rooms that have bigger bathrooms, so it wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseekerli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Cape Town is blessed with many excellent hotels so as a regular visitor I often find myself being spoilt for choice. In the last year or so I have chosen to stay at the Vineyard in Newlands. Unless you must be in the heart of Cape Town or really seek the bustle of the V & A Waterfront, this is a great choice. The centuries-old mansion has been cleverly extended into a modern hotel complex while retaining many of the origninal Cape Dutch features of tile floors and fascinating collections of old photographs and prints telling the story of the site. The rooms have all been refurbished in recent years and are very comfortable and well appointed. The WI-FI is free and efficient and the staff always charming. Parking is also secure, free and easy and you can walk to one of the city's best shopping centres, Cavendish Square. In the surrounding area there are excellent local restaurants and cafés including the very famous Melissa's. However, the Vineyard is made exceptional by its wonderful gardens and grounds against the backdrop of stunning close-up views of Table Mountain. With their ancient oaks and a river flowing right through the property it is a great place to unwind with a glass of good Cape wine or a cup of tea. The other reason to stay here is the food. The breakfast buffet (included in the room price) will keep anyone going for most of the day while Myoga - the fine dining restaurant where you can eat al fresco if the sun is shining - is probably one of the best places to eat in a city where dining out is way of life. So my advice is think beyond the Waterfront (the Vineyard has a shuttle service which takes you there and elsewhere in town) and enjoy real Cape hospitality in a magnificent setting.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
436 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
674 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town
1,609 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Address: 60 Colinton Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range: £112 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Splitty, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Newlands
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing