We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ett väldigt trevligt hotell med fin utsikt”
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Stenungsund, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ett väldigt trevligt hotell med fin utsikt”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went to Cape Town at the end of 2012 and stayed for new year. The hotel is amazing an we really felt like home. The garden is luscious with toroises.
The food was very good and we really enjoyed breakfast every day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyDausch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    287
    68
    36
    18
See reviews for
195
502
59
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Vineyard is a an amazing place to stay as it offers all what one would expect from such a highly rated hotel. What makes the difference is the setting, overlooking Devil'Peak,and the luscious gardens with the resident tortoises. It is truly magnificent,away from the bustle and hustle of Cape Town.
The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and always smiling.
The restaurant choices is excellent. It caters for light lunches in the garden or by the poolside.
The Square restaurant came top: the 5 course menu was excellent, but I would not choose again the wine selection offered by this tasting menu.
The Moyga restaurant was very busy, their 7 courses menu was slightly disappointing,fussy in taste and presentation.
We hope to be back next year,to escape chilly winters in Europe and would choose to stay at the Vineyard hotel in preference to hotels in the V&A area of Cape Town.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittanygirlabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We went to Cape Town at the end of December and did not realize that we were there on some of the busiest days of the year (12/27-12/30). We booked our entire holiday but the hotel. We started looking at hotels in November and all the ones that we thought we wanted to go to were full. Our friend recommended Vineyard Hotel and it turned out to be a little diamond in the rough. It was absolutely PERFECT! The service was great and the location was brilliant (easy to get to the highway but still felt like you were in a little suburb!). I wish I would have discovered everything that the hotel had to offer like dining in the gardens which looked great. They even have their very own resident turtle that we did not discover until the day we were leaving and I decided to get a last minute pedicure, which by the way pedicure was AWESOME! We were a family of four and had to get 2 rooms; we wish they would have had a room for all of us to be in together but maybe they were fully booked...we did wait until the last minute! :-) We would definitely go back to this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teampaladino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have been coming here for 10 years,the hotel is fantastic and the staff are the best in any hotel we have stayed in,the staff are always smiling and laughing,you are always made to feel at home,and nothing is to much trouble,and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: The only tip I can give is that you must visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_felsing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Vineyard is a stylish, family-owned hotel in the heart of suburbia, set in beautiful, tranquil gardens overlooking Devil's Peak. When enjoying tea on the terrace it is hard to believe that you're not in the country and far from the bustle of city life. It is very well-located for those doing business in nearby Claremont, and the city is only a few minutes' drive away. The rooms are modern and spacious, and very appealingly decorated. I always try to get a room in the new wing which, although quite far from the restaurants and reception, is usually quieter. If you're not willing to pay a premium for a mountain-facing room, the courtyard facing rooms are just as nice, and the view matters less on a business trip. The Spa is world-class, as is Myoga Restaurant, which is on the premises. The hotel is a popular business meeting spot and is also much favoured as a good place to enjoy afternoon tea. The breakfast buffet is superb and the reasonable room rates make this hotel very good value for money indeed. My only gripe is that the bath water is not scaldingly hot, although the shower water is fine. This is always disappointing on a chilly winter evening. Probably part of the "green" focus.

Room Tip: I particularly like the rooms in the new wing. And if you can afford it, the mountain-facing rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I travelled to Cape Town at the start of the month and stayed in The Vineyard for three nights. Our experience was amazing. Staff professional and friendly, room was lovely, spacious and quiet. We ate at all the restaurants and all the food and wine was fabulous. The grounds are beautiful and we really loved the outdoor pool area. Spa treatments were very relaxing and definitely recommend. The only hiccup we had was when we asked a staff member for some extra crisps when drinking in the bar on the afternoon of the 5th and were told by her she shouldn't be doing this (giving extra crisps). Considering we were drinking wine and spending money the comment really wasn't appropriate. We would definitely return in ever come to Cape Town again.

Room Tip: Room 251 is very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

It has been three years since I was last in Cape Town and the Vineyard, and on returning two weeks ago I was pleasantly surprised by just how little had changed. That is what I expected and it delivered. It is in a quite yet spectacular location in the shadow of Table mountain. The staff are helpful, friendly but not overbearing. They always have a smile for you and you get the sense that they enjoy having share their beautiful hotel. The breakfast choice is vast and the food generally very good. The attached restaurant next door, owned and run by the talented chef is well worth a try out of the 7 course sampler menu. A really exquisite dinning experience. The spa is wonderful with a well equipped, if a little small, gym and a gorgeous pool. The there is the Garden, it is just sublime. Please don't stay here if you want to do noisy and brash. Just relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are a premium but well worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,402 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,716 reviews
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Property: Vineyard Hotel
Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Newlands
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing