We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Love this hotel. Stayed for 12 nights in a deluxe mountain view room. The patio had table, chairs and sun-beds, so there was no requirement to go to the pool to sunbathe, even though the pool is lovely, great for swimming lengths. The bed is one of the most comfortable we have ever had in a hotel. The staff were very attentive and service was excellent.
The gardens are beautiful and it's very relaxing to walk round the grounds and enjoy finding the resident tortoises.
We will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martincpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    274
    66
    34
    17
See reviews for
186
479
59
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Pros - the service is absolutely impeccable, and the staff were all amazing - so lovely and so professional.

The food, in particular the breakfast, is just amazing and such good value.

The grounds of the hotel are stunning.

Cons - the free wifi was of very poor quality. Very frustrating when you're travelling for business purposes.

The service at breakfast when sitting outside is very poor - three requests for coffee and cutlery went unfulfilled, so I went and got my own. I believe this was due to understaffing as the servers who were there seemed to be working very hard.

The pool was very murky - you could barely see your thighs when swimming, let alone your feet. Not a great experience.


The bathroom of my room was a little tired, with mouldy grouting around the shower. My colleague's bathroom only two doors down was much newer. Must be something to do with when the extensions were put on. Request a room towards the end of the corridor.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambalamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing place to spend time with family and friends. i attended a wedding here and the service was amazing. You can come here for a peaceful experience. i loved the food, the pool is nicely maintained, and the little ones can also be occuppiel to an extent with small Walks around The river.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mujahid U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
255 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Staying at the Vineyard Hotel was a pleasant experience. We arrived early and our room was not ready but the lady from the front desk came to look for us where we had lunch under the huge trees in the garden. She brought our room keys and our bags were in the room when we got there. The room was spacious and had a wonderful garden view with Table Mountain as a back drop. The gardens were fabulous. The service in the restaurant were excellent with a good choice of dishes. Well worth a visit to enjoy tranquility so close to the City.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed with friends for 6 nights. It was our wedding anniversary and the hotel went out of its way to make the stay a most memorable one. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The spa and pool area quiet and relaxing. The friendliness of all the staff are a credit to the hotel and this is what made our stay most enjoyable. I would particularly like to thank Muneerah for arranging my anniversary surprise tea in the garden and to Leslie who looked after my wife around the pool on our last day when she was feeling unwell.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acbNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently spend a night at the Vineyard and were treated like royalty. The staff were friendly and helpful, except the ones in the bar area can maybe be a bit more friendly. However, in the restaurant the staff and sommelier were fantastic. Visit this hotel for olde world charm combined with comfortable surroundings and the most peaceful garden in the south.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the stunning garden. Not too close to the outside restaurant area as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaliese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Good range of facilities; good location with easy walking to other restaurants and shopping mall. Secure underground car parking.Courtyard bedrooms are basic but functional. However; breakfast service was chaotic with staff not knowing what they should be doing.Coffee was usually served cold, tables had missing cutlery and condiments whilst tables that had been vacated still had dirty plates etc and staff just walk past without clearing away. This is the fourth time in the last 5 years we have stayed here and it appears that increasing the outdoor eating/drinking area has had a negative impact on the level of service at busy times. The hotel seems to be focusing its priority in favor of conference guests at the expense of tourists.

Room Tip: Mountain facing rooms are too hot in summer requiring curtains to be kept drawn which defeats the ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Property: Vineyard Hotel
Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 207 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue - all set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to airport, city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing