We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel with a warm welcome”
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Kempten, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel with a warm welcome”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel on our 2nd trip to Cape Town and were very delighted. This hotel is a good blend between old style and modern comfort. The staff give great service with a warm personal touch which is a nice change from the polite but often very cool professionalism in European or American hotels. The rooms are generous with big comfortable beds. The views of the garden cafe into the gardens and on the mountains are wonderful to have breakfast with. The breakfast offers a wide choice expected in this sort of hotel and the restaurant was also quite good. We would like to come back soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    281
    68
    35
    18
See reviews for
194
490
59
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I reviewed this hotel last year and the fact that we have visited it again should speak volumes. To be met at reception with "welcome back" is fairly easy for a hotel to do but when you go into dinner and the hostess welcomes you by name and says how nice it is to see us back (and mean it, not just a platitude) that is just the icing on the cake.

Cannot but highly recommend this place, the location is great, the staff are excellent and the food is superb.

We will be back for anther stay.

Room Tip: Choose a mountain view room if it is your first visit. The views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humphrey_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frauenfeld
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Lovely setting and garden. Family friendly & great location! Great menu and choose of restaurants. Nice pool. We had a room with our own little garden and sun beds. It was all so relaxed! Love to come back!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Love this hotel. Stayed for 12 nights in a deluxe mountain view room. The patio had table, chairs and sun-beds, so there was no requirement to go to the pool to sunbathe, even though the pool is lovely, great for swimming lengths. The bed is one of the most comfortable we have ever had in a hotel. The staff were very attentive and service was excellent.
The gardens are beautiful and it's very relaxing to walk round the grounds and enjoy finding the resident tortoises.
We will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martincpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Pros - the service is absolutely impeccable, and the staff were all amazing - so lovely and so professional.

The food, in particular the breakfast, is just amazing and such good value.

The grounds of the hotel are stunning.

Cons - the free wifi was of very poor quality. Very frustrating when you're travelling for business purposes.

The service at breakfast when sitting outside is very poor - three requests for coffee and cutlery went unfulfilled, so I went and got my own. I believe this was due to understaffing as the servers who were there seemed to be working very hard.

The pool was very murky - you could barely see your thighs when swimming, let alone your feet. Not a great experience.


The bathroom of my room was a little tired, with mouldy grouting around the shower. My colleague's bathroom only two doors down was much newer. Must be something to do with when the extensions were put on. Request a room towards the end of the corridor.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambalamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing place to spend time with family and friends. i attended a wedding here and the service was amazing. You can come here for a peaceful experience. i loved the food, the pool is nicely maintained, and the little ones can also be occuppiel to an extent with small Walks around The river.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mujahid U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
256 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Staying at the Vineyard Hotel was a pleasant experience. We arrived early and our room was not ready but the lady from the front desk came to look for us where we had lunch under the huge trees in the garden. She brought our room keys and our bags were in the room when we got there. The room was spacious and had a wonderful garden view with Table Mountain as a back drop. The gardens were fabulous. The service in the restaurant were excellent with a good choice of dishes. Well worth a visit to enjoy tranquility so close to the City.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Property: Vineyard Hotel
Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing