We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geat find in the leavy Newlands”
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The existence of the Vineyard Hotel in Newlands has been known to us since the seventies, 40 years ago, but only now have we actually stayed there, since we got such a good rate, it was impossible to refuse. What a pleasant surprize awaited us. Much must have been added and done to the original hotel during the past 40 years because here was a very modern hotel with the latest facilities, and yet it has maintained in part something of the old character.The first impression one gets is one of modern elegance as one enters the lobby. Check-in was very professional as was the rest of the staff. The room was well appointed, and there was even a little garden one could step into from our room. Breakfast was very satisfactory, the a la carte dinner somewhat less so. The swimmingpool area was quite beautiful, set in a lovely garden. The fitness centre seemed to be very well equipped and attended. The Vineyard can justifiably claim to be one of the best hotels in Cape Town, and its saving grace is the good value for money one gets here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for about a week in December 2013. The hotel rooms are good, but the grounds and the setting are fantastic. The view of table mountain, when sitting at the pool or having tea in the garden is wonderful. The Spa is great and the on-site restaurant, Myoga, is amazing. Actually, I'd say Myoga is the best restaurant we went to in Cape Town and we have tried all of the top 10.
Being so close to the mountain does mean that the weather can be worse than you would have in camps bay, for example, but that was never really a problem. Stay here !

Room Tip: Get a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanSupaTravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

In the breakfast restaurant, room and reception the staff attitudes were often rather uncaring and the service was very poor - particularly for a hotel of this price range. It's a pity because the setting, buildings and gardens are amazingly beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ausgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Here the service is excellent, the food is outstanding. And of course the view is stunning. I have eaten at both the Mayoga restaurant and the Terrace restaurant recently and highly recommend both. A real treat.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The vineyard is the home away from home when I travel to Cape Town. It has a personality! Sitting in the garden with a glass of pinto age and starring at table mountains is priceless. Definitely I must if you want to have a relaxed and unique stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tini_Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We decided to get married at the Vineyard after a fantastic stay last year.

Robyn van Oudtshoorn , took all the organisation for our wedding and put a fantastic day together for us. We can't thank her enough! Our day went above and beyond our expectations. The minister Peter Fox, photographer Jo Blair and the meal at the Square Restaurant were perfect.

We were kindly upgraded to a mountain view room with stunning views over the extensive gardens and Table Mountain. The room was extremely comfortable and well kitted out.

The food at the hotel is superb as is the service. The staff at the Vineyard are a credit to the hotel.

We are already looking at returning next year. This hotel has fantastic facilities, charm and is a perfect place to unwind whilst enjoying all Cape Town has to offer.

Couldn't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pastie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Upon arriving the hotel looked nice yet a bit far from the center of town. As we walked to our room i found the hallways to be rather shabby and in need of some TLC. When we walked into the room, it was spacious and average at best. When i waled into the bathroom the oder that permeated the room was intoxicating. It smelled like an open sewer. We advised the front desk and housekeeping of the poor and nothing was done to fix the issue. I won't get into details on how bad the smell actually was. The next day we hit the road early and when we returned to the hotel we took a nap prior to going out to dinner. When I woke up I found that my chest was covered in tiny bites that I assume were BED BUGS. I quickly called for a manager to come to the room and she asked if we thought they were fleas or bed bugs. I was appalled to say the least. She did not seems shocked at all! We left for dinner and asked that they change our room upon our return. When we returned we were told that the hotel was full and they they were unable to change our room. They said they simply changed the sheets. We are NOT given any kind of refund or anything to compensate for the stench in the bathroom or the bed bug problem. For the next 10 days of my honeymoon I had to deal with a chest full of bug bites!
Although the hotel had a great garden terrace for breakfast, that was just about the only redeeming quality.
I would certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone for obvious reasons and because it was not as centrally located as I would have liked.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MiamiTravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
6.1 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,862 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
392 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,854 reviews
3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Address: 60 Colinton Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range: £104 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing