We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was so inviting from the moment we stepped in the door. Our room had a balcony overlooking the beautiful garden, with a view of Table Mountain. It was spacious and comfortable. We had a private dinner our first night there. The food was fantastic. Breakfast was a buffet. There was a wide range of choices. I would highly recommend staying at this property.

Room Tip: We had an exceptional view, so would suggest a room with a view of the gardens. They also have some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUVTRVLNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    287
    68
    36
    18
See reviews for
195
502
59
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Was here for four nights. The service and food was excellent.

The Experience: Located at the foothills of Table Mountain with stunning views of the mountain itself. There is a river flowing throughout the property and at any given location one can hear the water flowing. Lovely gardens and forests around the property.

The Accommodation: A Standard 5 star luxury room with a king bed, desk and lounge seating. Common balcony outside the room shared by the adjoining rooms. The bathroom had a tub and shower in addition to the standard amenities.

The Food: Breakfast was lavish and I was spoilt for choice at the breakfast table. The service was immaculate with the elderly motherly waitresses constantly pampering me.

Overall a great experience. The only draw back being the location in terms of the Waterfront and the City Center. It was a 40 minute drive in peak evening traffic which really took a toll on the experience. But then again I was there for work and had to travel at those times. I am sure at off peak hours one can reach within 15 minutes.

The hotel is located right next to the Kirstenbosch Gardens as well as the Table Mountain hence it could be a good location for a couple of nights for tourists.

Room Tip: I had room 162 which was way at the end of the property but had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobeyondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is simply beautiful, with a magnificent garden overlooking Table Mountain. The rooms are big, beds are comfortable, while the bathrooms a bit old but okay. The breakfast was also very good, with excellent food. The personnel was great and really nice in every occasion. The position is maybe a bit not so good, being quite far from the center and so you need a car or a cab every time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel was great. The restaurant is worth a visit even if you decide to stay somewhere else. I think i have never had breakfast in a more beautiful place than there. The most wonderful view of the hills, wrapped in clouds or not.
The room was a bit boring even though we where upgraded to a double deluxe, which was huge. It had though the most awesome green view of a garden that remind of amazon woods.
Very nice pool area. Almost no kids ;)
If i would go back to SA i would love to stay for a week here.
And don't miss the guest shop!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in April as part of a 3 week holiday in South Africa. An almost quaint, old style hotel in picture perfect surroundings. Table mountain as the backdrop. Rooms as you would expect and very comfortable. However I have never felt so relaxed and "at home" as I have in this hotel. Incredible service, very friendly people and every staff member greeting us with a big smile. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Loved every minute of our stay.
Thank you for having us. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed for business for 3 nights each year for last 3 years. Excellent hotel with very good service. Bar and restaurant is superb, the pool and gym has an idyllic setting with views to Table Mountain. Be sure to see the giant tortoise too!

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Spent four nights at the hotel. Room well equipped except for desk, which is a glass table. Proper desk would be better. WiFi works well in all areas but is a bit slow. Conference facilities good. Staff helpful and attentive - well trained always there but unobtrusive. Restaurant for breakfast and lunch is good and reasonably priced. Concierge knowledgeable and efficient. All in all a good stay

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AubreyP695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,406 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Property: Vineyard Hotel
Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Newlands
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing