We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super Hotel and a great experience”
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A super Hotel and a great experience”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I thought the Vineyard Hotel was perfect for my needs.

I was attending a Conference at Kirstenbosch Gardens and the Hotel was perfectly placed.

The Room was very well appointed and comfortable, with seperate shower and bath, which is exactly what I require.

The Food was very well prepared and presentation was excellent.

I will certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Cape Town.

Room Tip: Room 164 was spacious and comfortable with a great view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Rubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    287
    68
    36
    18
See reviews for
195
502
59
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I love the vineyard. I stayed there for two months and was quickly upgraded to an amazing room with a balcony overlooking table mountain. The staff were so friendly and the rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was delicious and the cafe itself was really nice with a lot of natural light. The gardens are beautiful as well. I wish the machines in the gym were more up-to-date but otherwise I had an amazing stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Schmidt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had only 48 hours in the Cape in a tight ten day 4 centre trip to see clients and contacts in Cape Town, Pretoria, Jo'burg and the fourth place was the bush near BellaBella (yes that was more pleasure than business, I admit).
Vineyards looked after us efficiently, able to cope with a vegetarian (me) despite the meat and fish heavy diet in that part of the world and to offer a range of simple meals or major blow out dining experiences. The gym and pool were pleasant and the views wonderful.

Try it out if you are staying in the area - it won't disappoint you.

Room Tip: The rear rooms with views up to the mountains are supposed to be best but I could not imagine any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rufus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I had a truly comfortable room, with excellent amenities and access to good food and drinks on the terrace in the evenings. The grounds are full of interesting wildlife, including froggy choruses at night. The views of the Lion's Head and the quiet setting make it a must for any traveller. On top of all this, it has an eco commitment and funds social project, for example educational and environmental concerns. The service was kind, friendly and prompt, and the breakfast exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CApe Town
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stay at the Vineyard Hotel perhaps twice a year. My stay always involves a session at the Angsana Spa and a dinner at Myoga restaurant, which I regard as my personal indulgence to relax and unwind. Over the past three years, the service at the Vineyard has always been excellent, and the staff and services have always been exceptional, and remain so. I am always greeted with enthusiasm and made to feel welcome. The rooms and beds are of a superior standard and comparable to any other top hotel I have stayed in worldwide.

In my view, the Angsana Spa is one of the better spa's in Cape Town, and the wide range of treatments make the spa a personal favourite. Myoga changes from time to time, and the service and food are always of a top quality. Occasionally, on e experiences an 'indifference' amongst serving staff, but the food standard is always high and highly recommended. The sommeliers are usually well-trained and a pleasure to chat to.

I would recommend this experience to any traveler, as well as locals looking for a break from the city life.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens or mountain. The mountain views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freewanderingspiirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was so inviting from the moment we stepped in the door. Our room had a balcony overlooking the beautiful garden, with a view of Table Mountain. It was spacious and comfortable. We had a private dinner our first night there. The food was fantastic. Breakfast was a buffet. There was a wide range of choices. I would highly recommend staying at this property.

Room Tip: We had an exceptional view, so would suggest a room with a view of the gardens. They also have some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUVTRVLNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Was here for four nights. The service and food was excellent.

The Experience: Located at the foothills of Table Mountain with stunning views of the mountain itself. There is a river flowing throughout the property and at any given location one can hear the water flowing. Lovely gardens and forests around the property.

The Accommodation: A Standard 5 star luxury room with a king bed, desk and lounge seating. Common balcony outside the room shared by the adjoining rooms. The bathroom had a tub and shower in addition to the standard amenities.

The Food: Breakfast was lavish and I was spoilt for choice at the breakfast table. The service was immaculate with the elderly motherly waitresses constantly pampering me.

Overall a great experience. The only draw back being the location in terms of the Waterfront and the City Center. It was a 40 minute drive in peak evening traffic which really took a toll on the experience. But then again I was there for work and had to travel at those times. I am sure at off peak hours one can reach within 15 minutes.

The hotel is located right next to the Kirstenbosch Gardens as well as the Table Mountain hence it could be a good location for a couple of nights for tourists.

Room Tip: I had room 162 which was way at the end of the property but had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobeyondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,402 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Property: Vineyard Hotel
Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Newlands
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing