We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Stay, The staff was amazing, The view heavenly”
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2009

I stayed at the Vineyard for a course that was held there. What a beautiful hotel with great staff from the receptionists to Room Service Staff. First 3 nights I was in a beautifully revamped room, an interior decorator's dream and the last two nights I moved to a suite room, which was also beautiful althought a lot older. The restaurants offer a lot of variety of food, freshly made, healthy alternatives and great wine variety. I also appreciate how they are committed to the environment in all aspects. Very accessible. I loved the gym and tried the massaged at the Thai Spa - Angsana Spa. Thank you for a wonderful stay, I'll be sure to visit again on business or leisure

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,158 - 1,164 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed at the Vineyard due to its good reputation and close proximity to the start of the Two Oceans Marathon which we participated in. Overall the hotel is very good with friendly efficient service and a great breakfast buffet. The highlight is the gardens and the beautiful view .There were some aspects which I think could have been improved on such as the parking area which was also being used as a storage place for furniture. You are not able to regulate the temperature in your own room and have to call the frontdesk if you want the temperature changed. I found this inconvenient. Overall relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skymaiden001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

I stayed for 13 nights - to watch the Test match at nearby Newlands and also for sightseeing. I had a standard Mountain Facing room which had absolutely wonderful views of not surprisingly the mountains and also the incredible hotel gardens. The bedrooms are not luxurious but have character and are perfectly acceptable - I was very happy to spend nearly a fortnight in room 324. A large and very comfortable bed and a nice flat screen television with 3/4 sports channels although I would liked to have had 567 Cape Talk as an radio option and the other channels were a bit limited. UK power point in the room. The bed is turned down every night and you get a little local Cape story to read every night. Plenty of room for clothes but no ironing board or iron in the room but they could easily be obtained. A very efficient in house laundry service was available but not cheap by South African standards.
Whether it is worth upgrading to a Mountain view room depends on the supplement you have to pay - some of the Courtyard rooms can be a bit dark. Internet access for those without a lap top is via 2 screens near reception - not cheap at R90 an hour.
The hotel has a Japanese restaurant- franchised, as well as the main hotel restaurant - The Square where excellent breakfasts are served although the cooked section of the breakfast is ordered as opposed to buffet. The evening meals are A La carte and a friend who dined with me one night said the first two courses he had were the best he had eaten for 10 years - very reasonably priced. Good room service.
There is a large bar with a lovely outside terrace facing onto the gardens with views to the mountains. A great place for lunch or a snack meal in the evening. The gardens are absolutely stunning and expertly manicured - a haven of peace and tranquility and frequented by at least one absolutely huge tortoise who is very receptive to having his photo taken. If you feel lazy you can easily spend a day in the gardens, bar, decent sized outdoor swimming pool with ample sun loungers, gym, 'splash' cafe etc.
Whilst the hotel is is in the southern suburb of Claremont, the V & A (Waterfront) and city centre are only 15 minutes away by car. There is plentiful car parking at the V & A and incredibly cheap by UK standards. Also the M3 down to Cape Point and the Indian and Atlantic Ocean beaches is very close to the hotel as is Kirstenbosch Gardens. The upmarket Cavendish shopping centre is 5 minutes walk away. No problem with car parking at the hotel. I would certainly recommend having a car - I had mine delivered to and collected from the hotel. The Vineyard will also collect you from the airport when you arrive and take you back there - R320 each way - more than a taxi probably but also a better car and excellent service.
In summary I would rate this as my favourite hotel in the world for a holiday, not the most luxurious but it has great character, good service, attention to detail and wonderful grounds and views.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Spend four night in the Hotel at a regular rate, no bargain or last minute. At check-in we got one of the two loudest room over the restaurant and bar area. Noise till late. Next morning noise from the kitchen area down the passage.Tried to change the room but at first no other room available. In the afternoon the gave me a different room. The oldest and most rotten room i have seen for the last year in a four star hotel. Smelled like nobody was in there for month. Changed room again and got one with a view onto the neigbouring construction site with noise all day long.Unfortunately i had payed in advance so i stayed as planed. Never again

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laumichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We have stayed here before, but the hotel seems even better than our last visit. We stayed in a standard mountain view room which was ready for check in at 11am when we arrived, as was the 11.30 spa treatment which was very pleasant after a long flight. Rooms are better than before (nicely updated with frosted glass bathroom, flat screen tv etc), gym is great, grounds are beautiful, staff very friendly and efficient, breakfast is fantastic with attentive service, other meals are nothing less than very good; and it's all very good value at the exchange rate. This is my favourite hotel worldwide: it's well run and gives you a classy, upmarket holiday in a lovely location for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Musician101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

I recently stayed at the Vineyard Hotel in Newlands for the 2nd time in the last 12 months. I was visiting friends in Bishops Court so the location was perfect. The hotel is a 15 minute drive from the airport and 15 mins from the V&A waterfront. You will definitely need a car staying here. Parking is free, that is definitely nice. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from Claremont and Cavendish Square which is great for shopping, eating and drinking.

This hotel caters to an older crowd. I am 23 and was probably the youngest person there, most were 40's to senior citizens. I stayed for the proximity to my friends.

There are two restaurants at the hotel; The Square and Myoga. Both are very good and offer good value ( by american standards). Myoga is excellent for lunch and dinner...dinner was exceptional. The tasting menu is great or order a 4 course meal for R265 or $26.50. Service is excellent. The Square is also very good and has a good breakfast buffet (Came with the room). It is a continental breakfast and then you order an entree. Room service is good, you only pay for the food and tip, no added service charges like in the US.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I remember coming back to the hotel at 4 am and 5 am and the staff being helpful with anything I needed.

The hotel offers transfers to and from the airport for R325 or $32.50 (affordable for US but expensive in Cape Town). The hotel offeres complimentary driver service to anywhere within 4 KM of the hotel. This is nice but outisde 4km it is 2 to 3 times the cost of a taxi. The drivers are very nice, helpful and professional.

The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean and modern. The rooms are currently being upgraded. The air condition worked and house keeping provided service twice a day and was excellent.

The gym is excellent for a hotel. The equipment is brand new..i watched them install it and used it the first day it was operational. I am a gym rat and was able to do a full workout. I lifted weights and did cardio. There are two pools, one indoor one outdoor both are nice. Poolside service is good and there are plenty of lounge chairs

The setting is like they say ...perfect. Gorgeous views of Table Mountain, great gardens and rivers. It truly is an amazing place. It is very serene and perfect for relaxation.

Spa is excellent and very affordable. Try the Rooibos Tea Bath!

Overall this is a great hotel ( although not a Mandarin Oriental or Four Seasons) and a great value. Definitely worth considering but get a car. BTW i paid about $130 per night, very affordable. Hope this helps.

Oooo and if you sleep late put the do not disturb sign up...mini bar gets checked at 10 am...woke me up several times.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPMGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

The room for the hotel is reasonably spacious but the building is older. It has been upgraded for internet access and is business-friendly (I had no problem plugging in my US-style powerbricks and charging electronics). Because the hotel is surrounded by gardens and water features the view was fabulous. I had a balcony that overlooked a courtyard filled with flowering plants, trees, fountains and statuary. I noticed there were plants which surrounded the balconies to offer some privacy for each one. Very well designed.

Room service is very friendly and willing to accommodate requests. This might have something to do with my unfamiliarity with the usual and customary tip for housekeeping (I was leaving 15% of my daily hotel bill) in South Africa. However, the real attraction is not the room but the amenities! The hotel offers indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a well-appointed fitness center with trainers, a spa (they were completely booked - make your appointment before you show up), and the Miyoga restaurant. The Miyoga's chef may be one of the world's rising young chefs, not yet well known outside of Cape Town. Dinner here was an experience with beautiful ambiance, attentive, expert but unobtrusive service, delicious and original food beautifully presented and well-paced, all for about $30-35.

The hotel is surrounded by gardens and water features which attracts some indigenous wild-life. There is a small cafe, with remarkably friendly but forgetful waitstaff. I guess they think you'll be paying attention to the view and not your order. Great place to hang out but make sure they bring your stuff!

The concierge's desk was knowledgeable and helped us out with everything from taxis to safari bookings. Good thing because none of us had planned anything in advanced so we were completely dependent on them.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lindy_cheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
429 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
343 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,575 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Address: 60 Colinton Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range: £121 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing