We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Carpaccios”
Review of Wijnhuis

Wijnhuis
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Sandton, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Carpaccios”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Wijnhuis Newlands is a great place for a solid meal. I enjoyed the variety of wines available by the glass and different size options ie. from 150ml to a carafe of 370ml.
We started with two carpaccios - the Kudu and Beef carpaccio. Both were excellent. The 400g Rump that I had for my main course was also very good and well aged.

Service was attentive and the restaurant vibey.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    60
    22
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Bleek!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I am absolutely devastated with the revamped decor. Wijnhuis has been my favorite restaurant for many years and I have always made a point of bringing overseas visitors for a meal here, and they too shared my delight with the decor, food, service and general ambiance. Why the change?! (Surely it was a winning recipe?) The menu is now a disappointment and frankly the new upholstery and furniture look tacky and done on a low budget. Perhaps the revamp has increased business and if so good luck to the owners. But I for one am sad to no longer be able frequent what was such a classic eatery.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank karenehealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Expensive and average”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

After hearing this restaurant was so great, we were disappointed not only in the service but also that the prices did not justify the meals received. I don't think we would return in a hurry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun with footy”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We came here for a family party so tended not to concentrate on the food but I had kingclip which was good. Pity about the big TV screens but I guess that's good for footy enthusiasts. A fun place and quite buzzy

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NessandDorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

They have a interesting menu with a lot of choice. There are some very good starters to share and there is a good choice of meat dishes. The food was very tasty and the portion sizes were large. Service was very good and they have a nice wine list. Overall a very good evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManFromLondon186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wijnhuis also viewed

Newlands, Cape Town
 
Newlands, Cape Town
Newlands, Cape Town
 

Been to Wijnhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing