We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of moyo Kirstenbosch

moyo Kirstenbosch
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Newlands
Price range: US$6 - US$34
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Acclaimed as one of the great botanical gardens of the world, this breath-taking backdrop of nature is now part of the warm, friendly and relaxed moyo African charm - beautiful vistas, Afro entertainment and cuisine composed of the best of African produce. Moyo Kirstenbosch is nestled inside Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens situated at the foot of one of the 7 wonders of the world. There is an entrance fee to visit the majestic garden.
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is not the first time we had a meal here, but definitely the most disappointing, though the time before wasnt much to write home about either. A group of us had been to a concert in the gardens and thought it a great idea to continue the good afternoon we had with a meal on the spot. Before, we had been here during the day, so this was a first for us at night. It started off not good because there is no twilight, so it is dark quickly and to find your way to the restaurant was not pleasant because the paths were badly lit or not lit at all.But OK, not MOYO's fault. The restaurant was practically empty, should have been a warning. The service was friendly enough, though not professional. The food over-priced for the limited selection and quality. When we wanted to leave, they refused to let us use the door to the parking area where our car was, instead we had to go back to the gardens and find out way to the parking area along the dimly lit paths, So all in all, average service, average food, bad hospitality and over-priced. Will definitely not go back and no recommendation. Pity, the surroundings are beautiful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grebnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 407 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife's year-end function was held there recently and I was quite surprised at the experience. I suppose I expected more given that it is in the world-renowned gardens of Kirstenbosch.
Maybe they struggle with serving large groups.
The welcome drink wasn't great, some sort of daquiri, the white wine wasn't cold when served at the table so ice was needed. The food portions were quite small for a table of 10 but you could order more if needed. The food wasn't that hot. There was no vegetarian option that should have been available for the vegetarians at the table.
Entertainment that was expected never materialised.
I heard afterwards that they are in liquidation, I must say I am not surprised.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AbrieDeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moyo2016, Public Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Service and food was great, but the deco was a let down. When you walk into the tents at Moyo Spier, you feel as if you're stepping into 'Africa' and the atmosphere is so much more romantic/dreamy. Moyo Kirstenbosch has very little african character. A few red tents here and there don't do the trick!!! ;(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

On the 5 Nov 2013 our Group of 27 arrived for lunch just after 12 noon. Despite all efforts to get the manager to get a move on, the meal ended almost THREE hours later, just before 3pm. Had it not been for the Events Manager, they may still be there, as the manager was completely laid back and did nothing to assist in getting their meal out. Groups have a limited time for lunch, as they follow a schedule of various visits during their day tours - they do not have 3 hours to waste at Moyo. Unless something changes, we will not book Moyo again as a lunch stop over, neither will be recommend it to others.


Jenny Peers - AFRICAPE TOURS cc

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Africapetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Moho usually has such a great vibe and service. Not this branch. Poor hosting, dirty and broken appliances in bathroom. We waited over an hour for food- which turned out to be a small portion with no condiments (what salad comes without any dressing?). Requested a feeding chair for my baby and was first told "you an get it at the bar or ask your waitress", when our waitress eventually came around we were told they only had 1 feeding chair and it was unsafe for the baby as it was broken. All in all a very disappointing experience. Cherry on top- no manager came to assist when she could clearly see things were falling apart throughout the restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mellylevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Kirstenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear Guest, sorry we missed your valuable review! We are delighted to inform you that we are fully active on Tripadvisor and are responding to all customer feedback on this platform. We look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team moyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed moyo Kirstenbosch also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to moyo Kirstenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing