We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Newlands
Nearby Hotels
US$84
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Hotel(Newlands)
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson RED Cape Town(Cape Town)(Great Value!)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$185
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
US$276
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
294
158
34
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
158
34
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstsogo sunexcellent servicecape townindian restaurantbreakfast stafftwo oceansgo the extra mileroom servicepleasant stayhotel is situatedhotel roomclean roomsenjoyed my staycavendish squarenewlands cricketeasy accesslovely view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel has undergone incredible refurbishment since I last there. The finishes and furnishings are superb. And this is well matched with courteous and efficient staff. It simply woes you to a next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank JasperMusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

We are most pleased that you like our new look! I have also advised the rest of the staff regarding your comments pertaining to their service.

The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the hotel and the staff was excellent! Upon arrival and checkout the process was efficient, breakfast was good and our overall stay was awesome! The hotel is ideally located and close to all amenities and very central!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Rughsheen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Many thanks for your custom and for your lovely review.

The team and I thank you for the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Still one of the best looked after hotels under the southern sun umbrella. The room was great, bathroom was awesome, even think having breakfast in the room was the best idea. The packaging of the breakfast meals was outstanding. Nice hotel overall still, after all these years.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Mandla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you so much for your continuous custom and for your lovely feedback.

We are most pleased to know that enjoyed your stay.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel is centrally located in Newlands just off Main Rd, making it an ideal accomodation if you have some business to attend to at UCT. It is so close to the world acclaimed Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, a few minutes drive from Kenilworth Race Course, the ever popular Access Park, home to a variety of all sortsof factory shops and retail outlets. This hotel is great for families, business, solo travellers, friends or couples.
It was revamped a few years ago and so it is quiet contemporary, the staff is very friendly, professional and efficient .

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwaziQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Many thanks for your custom and for your detailed description of our hotel.

We are pleased that you experienced an efficient and pleasant stay.

The team and I wish you well for the year ahead and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

What a service!!!!! Excellent. Breakfast charges caught me offside. Room was cosy and quiet. Atmosphere stunning with friendly staff all around. Overall rating 101%. Shops are just a stone away from the hotel. Newlands stadium is next door. I would say all amenities are just there you need not to go far





  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Gilbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your custom.

The team and I are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we could create great memories.

We wish you well for the year ahead and hope to welcome you back to our hotel, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews