We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doug” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Newlands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Sun Newlands
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Doug”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Excellent first impression of this hotel. Very attentive staff, truly excellent breakfast and clean room with a wonderful shower. Will definitely be booking future accommodation at the Tsogo. Brilliant!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Many thanks for your lovely feedback.

We are pleased that you had a great stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    121
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
107
61
17
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mbour, Senegal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I had a nice stay at the Souther Sun Hotel in Cape Town. Apart from the Wifi, the service was very good: I would recommend this hotel to friends . The internet quality is really to be improved though. It was sometimes annoying to not be able to check E mail or keep in touch with collegues and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Boubacar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback pertaining to our hotel as well as the Wi Fi.

Please allow me to apologise for the inconvenience that you experienced due to the service not meeting your expectations at the time.
We have reported the issue to our provider and it has since been rectified.

In addition to the above we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel has undergone incredible refurbishment since I last there. The finishes and furnishings are superb. And this is well matched with courteous and efficient staff. It simply woes you to a next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank JasperMusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

We are most pleased that you like our new look! I have also advised the rest of the staff regarding your comments pertaining to their service.

The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the hotel and the staff was excellent! Upon arrival and checkout the process was efficient, breakfast was good and our overall stay was awesome! The hotel is ideally located and close to all amenities and very central!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Rughsheen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Many thanks for your custom and for your lovely review.

The team and I thank you for the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Still one of the best looked after hotels under the southern sun umbrella. The room was great, bathroom was awesome, even think having breakfast in the room was the best idea. The packaging of the breakfast meals was outstanding. Nice hotel overall still, after all these years.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Mandla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for your continuous custom and for your lovely feedback.

We are most pleased to know that enjoyed your stay.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel is centrally located in Newlands just off Main Rd, making it an ideal accomodation if you have some business to attend to at UCT. It is so close to the world acclaimed Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, a few minutes drive from Kenilworth Race Course, the ever popular Access Park, home to a variety of all sortsof factory shops and retail outlets. This hotel is great for families, business, solo travellers, friends or couples.
It was revamped a few years ago and so it is quiet contemporary, the staff is very friendly, professional and efficient .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwaziQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Many thanks for your custom and for your detailed description of our hotel.

We are pleased that you experienced an efficient and pleasant stay.

The team and I wish you well for the year ahead and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

What a service!!!!! Excellent. Breakfast charges caught me offside. Room was cosy and quiet. Atmosphere stunning with friendly staff all around. Overall rating 101%. Shops are just a stone away from the hotel. Newlands stadium is next door. I would say all amenities are just there you need not to go far





  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Gilbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your custom.

The team and I are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we could create great memories.

We wish you well for the year ahead and hope to welcome you back to our hotel, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
0.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
4.5 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Newlands

Property: Southern Sun Newlands
Address: 7 Main Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Newlands 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers that prefer to be outside the city centre, the Southern Sun Newlands is the perfect choice in Cape Town. Situated in this leafy garden suburb the hotel is close to the city and its many attractions, but quiet enough for a restful night’s sleep. The decor of the hotel is truly African and luxurious and its proximity to both the Newlands cricket and rugby stadiums is a bonus for many visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, South African Hotels, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Southern Sun Newlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Newlands Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing