We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Newlands
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have just returned from a wonderful vacation at this Hotel for 10 days. The girls at the check in on reception were amazing. Always so friendly and constantly asking me if we needed anything.
Breakfast was superb and of a very high quality. The Staff were always so helpful and always willing to go that extra mile for us. We were constantly given free welcome drinks and the staff always had smile on their faces and always asking how we were. The rooms were serviced twice a day and we had a wonderful view on the mountain. The rooms were spotless. I would definitely recommend staying at the Newlands Sun and would like to personally take this opportunity to thank everyone for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yael15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you kindly for your lovely feedback regarding our hotel and staff.

It was indeed a pleasure to host you and we are delighted to know that you had a fantastic time.

All the best for the year ahead and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Newlands
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Excellent first impression of this hotel. Very attentive staff, truly excellent breakfast and clean room with a wonderful shower. Will definitely be booking future accommodation at the Tsogo. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Many thanks for your lovely feedback.

We are pleased that you had a great stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I had a nice stay at the Souther Sun Hotel in Cape Town. Apart from the Wifi, the service was very good: I would recommend this hotel to friends . The internet quality is really to be improved though. It was sometimes annoying to not be able to check E mail or keep in touch with collegues and family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Boubacar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback pertaining to our hotel as well as the Wi Fi.

Please allow me to apologise for the inconvenience that you experienced due to the service not meeting your expectations at the time.
We have reported the issue to our provider and it has since been rectified.

In addition to the above we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel has undergone incredible refurbishment since I last there. The finishes and furnishings are superb. And this is well matched with courteous and efficient staff. It simply woes you to a next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank JasperMusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

We are most pleased that you like our new look! I have also advised the rest of the staff regarding your comments pertaining to their service.

The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the hotel and the staff was excellent! Upon arrival and checkout the process was efficient, breakfast was good and our overall stay was awesome! The hotel is ideally located and close to all amenities and very central!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Rughsheen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Many thanks for your custom and for your lovely review.

The team and I thank you for the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Still one of the best looked after hotels under the southern sun umbrella. The room was great, bathroom was awesome, even think having breakfast in the room was the best idea. The packaging of the breakfast meals was outstanding. Nice hotel overall still, after all these years.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Mandla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you so much for your continuous custom and for your lovely feedback.

We are most pleased to know that enjoyed your stay.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel is centrally located in Newlands just off Main Rd, making it an ideal accomodation if you have some business to attend to at UCT. It is so close to the world acclaimed Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, a few minutes drive from Kenilworth Race Course, the ever popular Access Park, home to a variety of all sortsof factory shops and retail outlets. This hotel is great for families, business, solo travellers, friends or couples.
It was revamped a few years ago and so it is quiet contemporary, the staff is very friendly, professional and efficient .

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwaziQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Many thanks for your custom and for your detailed description of our hotel.

We are pleased that you experienced an efficient and pleasant stay.

The team and I wish you well for the year ahead and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
0.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,763 reviews
4.8 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#30 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
4.7 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Newlands

Address: 7 Main Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range: £116 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Newlands 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers that prefer to be outside the city centre, the Southern Sun Newlands is the perfect choice in Cape Town. Situated in this leafy garden suburb the hotel is close to the city and its many attractions, but quiet enough for a restful night’s sleep. The decor of the hotel is truly African and luxurious and its proximity to both the Newlands cricket and rugby stadiums is a bonus for many visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Sun Newlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Newlands Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing