We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the management made all the difference!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Newlands
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, South Africa
Level Contributor
213 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“the management made all the difference!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

i love this hotel, because every single person working here, has the same outlook....
to make you feel welcome and to make sure all youre needs and expectations are met! thr food is healthy and fresh, and everthingh you need is attended to with pleasure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank heilavh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback.

We are most pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay!

The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    123
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
110
62
18
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

A good business , three and a half star hotel . Centrally located and very close to major roads and amenities. Not quite 4- star. Efficient and friendly staff, nothing is too much. Was offered a complimentary welcoming cup of tea delivered promptly to my room. Comfortable sleep and very nice breakfast. A comfortable walk to the. Cavendish shopping centre but they also have a shuttle service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

A warm and comfortable stay located walking distance from my business place
The room was clean and pleasant and the service friendly.
The only thing missing was a small exercise area.
Breakfast was well laid out

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your custom and for your feedback.

We are pleased to know that our hotel met your expectations. Since we do not have a gym on site, we utilise the Sports Science Institute which is complimentary for our guests. It is less than 5 minutes walk away from the hotel.

For a future booking we would be happy to furnish you with a complimentary voucher for your workout.

In addition to the above we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Excellent friendly service by hotel staff.Good breakfast spread.Clean rooms.
Enjoyable stay overall.Hotel was centrally located.Cavendish mall was just down the road.Night porter actually went to the store for us the night we arrived because room service was closed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kausar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely feedback.

The Team is most pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay and that we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Convenient and quiet venue for business or leisure travel - very close to major sporting venues.
Beautiful view of the mountain.
Easy access to freeways and airport.
Undercover motor vehicle parking!!



  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank JohanC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your custom and for your review.

I am pleased to note that you found our facilities convenient.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Sunday's thrilling T20 Champions win for the Dolphins showe us how cricket can and should be played. Wonderful game, wonderful venue at Newlands, and wonderful accomodation - also at Newlands - Tsogo Sun Newlands - absolutely fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank PatN101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We are most pleased that you had a fantastic stay and that you enjoyed the game!

The Team thanks you for the lovely feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed 4 nights. Pleasant stay! Very comfortable beds but the airconditioners are very noisy in the bedrooms. The staff were very helpful and moved me to a mountain view room. Breakfast was fresh and simple.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank itchyfeetSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay.

Sincere apologies with regards to the airconditioning unit that was noisy. Our Maintenance Manager is aware of the situation and will ensure that it sorted to avoid a reoccurrence.

In addition to the above we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
4.4 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
4.7 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Newlands

Property: Southern Sun Newlands
Address: 7 Main Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Newlands 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers that prefer to be outside the city centre, the Southern Sun Newlands is the perfect choice in Cape Town. Situated in this leafy garden suburb the hotel is close to the city and its many attractions, but quiet enough for a restful night’s sleep. The decor of the hotel is truly African and luxurious and its proximity to both the Newlands cricket and rugby stadiums is a bonus for many visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, South African Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Newlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Newlands Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing