We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mihloti”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Newlands
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Excellent service. Hospitality redefined. E enjoyed the service and I will definitely visit again. Only improve your dinner, do not keep the guests waiting while you are preparing for supper. Otherwise I love your service


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Mihloti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, bar the delay for dinner. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience.
I do hope that you will accept my apology in the spirit that it is offered.

In addition to the above the Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our two night stay at the Newlands Sun was fantastic. Staff were great in all departments and everything was spotless and I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Beds soooo comfortable. Location very central to Cavendish.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely feedback.

The Team and I are most pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Friendliness, made me feel at home. Cleanliness was of a high standard. The area was great and I enjoyed the free vouchers that I got to visit the Sport Science Gym. I enjoyed the coffee and plunger in my room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Danielbenjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your custom and for your lovely review.

We are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My family appreciate the service we received from this hotel. It was an excellent one, the staff were wonderful and the breakfast is incomparable to any other. From the first day to the last day of our stay, we never have any reason to feel negative about this hotel. The staff are from another planet in good service.


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Ayoola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

I am most pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff met your expectations.

The fact that we could make your stay that much more comfortable gives us great satisfaction.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Never disapointed at this hotel. The service is on point, breakfast is a real treat and the rooms are really clean. The upgrade to the rooms, carpets and decor that was done a few years ago, looks modern and stylish. Always happy to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPRinZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your continuous custom and for your lovely feedback.

I am pleased to note that the team can create great memories, which ultimately leads to your return!

The Team and I look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Newlands Sun is located near the Newlands Cricket and Rugby stadiums, and mountain facing rooms have a beautiful view of Devil's Peak. The hotel seems to have been recently modernised, which has been done very well - the decoration is modern with good choice of colour schemes and the overall effect is a simple, clean and modern design with some character. We had a "triple" room which (for two adults and a child of 8), which effectively meant two (small) double beds in a somewhat small floor area, and the bathroom is quite small, but we did not spend much time in the room, so the lack of space was not really an issue. Practically, the size of the double bed is a bit on the small side for two adults (but our daughter was very happy with a double bed to herself!). The room was clean and well serviced by housekeeping. The only reservation I have about the room is the window, which is an aluminium sliding type where unfortunately it doesn't quite seal on both sides when closed (it seals either on one side or the other), and this lets noise in from the main road and also there seem to be a lot of trucks coming and going from (I assume) the brewery opposite. Also, I would question the insulating properties of the window - not a problem for us in early May as it was not too hot, but in summer with the full force of the sun, the shade film applied with the single glazing would not be enough, in my option, which would necessitate using the air-conditioning all night (which is efficient, but noisy for night-time use). Aside from these points, overall we found the hotel a very pleasant place to stay. The staff are extremely kind and attentive to children, and extremely helpful. The food in the restaurant (we only tried Newlands Cafe) is simple, but extremely well cooked to the point that it tastes home made. The children's menu, in particular is very well done, not too salty and very tasty. The speed of service in the restaurant is quite leisurely in terms of the time it takes from order to food on table, but this is not a problem unless you need to get your tired child to bed... Overall, a very good 3-star hotel, and excellent value for money

Room Tip: For a family it may be worth considering a suite (or at least a bigger room than the standard size)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your custom and for your detailed feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the experience. I shall, however revert to our Maintenance Manager to check the windows.

In addition to the above we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Second stay at this very conveniently located hotel, near they Cavendish Shopping Centre, the virgin gym as well University of Cape Town about 4 Kms away. Service was good but I must mention the excellent service by the breakfast team. Very proactive and enthusiastically ready to serve, Well done.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your continuous custom and for your lovely review.

I am pleased to note that this is your second stay and that you enjoyed the experience.

In addition to the above I shall be sure to pass on your feedback to the team and in particular the breakfast team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
0.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
4.8 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,023 reviews
4.4 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Newlands

Address: 7 Main Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range: £110 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Newlands 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers that prefer to be outside the city centre, the Southern Sun Newlands is the perfect choice in Cape Town. Situated in this leafy garden suburb the hotel is close to the city and its many attractions, but quiet enough for a restful night’s sleep. The decor of the hotel is truly African and luxurious and its proximity to both the Newlands cricket and rugby stadiums is a bonus for many visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Sun Newlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Newlands Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing