We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Newlands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Sun Newlands
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The room was lovely with excellent service
The access to the wireless was easy and fast connection. The room service staff were absolutely friendly and did an excellent job. I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ntombizamacira X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    121
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
107
61
17
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Also the most incredible value for money!! Can't actually understand how it can be so reasonably priced for such an outstanding hotel - it has everything you look for in a hotel costing 2-3 times as much - immaculate white cotton bedding on supremely comfortable beds (and a twin room has 2 DOUBLE beds - not singles), in-room WI-FI, superb breakfast inclusive in rate, flat screen TV etc. The staff are also key to the magic here - every single staff member from the doormen, waiters, receptionists to the managers - are professional, friendly, chatty - they make you feel at home. (They seem to have something special - I think they are all very happy in their jobs there?! - quite rare.) Nothing is too much trouble and there are lots of little touches we enjoyed eg. the free daily newspapers, lemon iced tea and chocolate nuts on the table in the foyer, or the fact that we wanted some extra milk for our coffee in the room and they just gave us a big jug of milk with no charge. They had a free Thursday cocktail hour where we were treated to delicious wine and canapés and one manager hosted it and soon everyone was chatting about the World Cup. This hotel also gives one free access to the Sports Science Institute for one's fitness / swimming needs. A superbly central hotel for the Southern suburbs attractions like Kirstenbosch Gardens, mountain trails or shopping (Cavendish). We will be back, hopefully soon!!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain facing room if you want to look at Table Mountain. Ask for a twin if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevangwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your delightful and detailed review.

The entire Team thanks you for taking the time to furnish us with such a lovely review and for sharing your experience!

We are pleased that we created such great memories and hope that we can do so again, in the not too distant future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

In Southern Sun Newlands hotel, I had experienced one of the most amazing stays, the staff are very descent, helpful and professional, rooms are well furnished and clean, I also enjoyed the complimentary in room WiFi access, nice food and the best famous Indian restaurant in town "Bihari",,, Thanks for all whom maintain that good presentable image,, for sure I'd love to repeat that experience whenever in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Table View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your delightful review! The Team and I thank you.

It was indeed our pleasure to host you and to have contributed to a fantastic stay.

In addition to the above we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is modern, rooms are big enough and very comfortable! The breakfast which is included in the reservation cost is to die for! The staff is very attentive and they do everything to make your stay comfortable, nothing is too much trouble for the from the porter to concierge.. Perfect location in the Southern suburbs close to a litany of good restaurants.. I think I have finally found a perfect base for my CT trips!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain facing room higher up in the building.. Also insist on a room with a shower only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageuse-GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review!

It is indeed a pleasure to know that we contributed to your delightful feedback.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Southern Sun Newlands is a place you want to go to if away from home to get that homely feel. From the time you arrive there is someone waiting to warmly welcome you those few moments upon arrival are sure indication of good things to come, then you get to reception the staff there is very professional, I cant begin to tell you about the Indian cuisine in the restaurant situated on the ground floor! the service there is worth going back again and again its unbelievable!

Room Tip: Any room is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
The Team and I thank you for your custom and for your lovely review.

I shall definately feedback to the team to advise them of the compliments!

In addition to the above we look forward to seeing you at Southern Sun Newlands, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Southern Sun Newlands is by far the best hotel in the group. The staff are a cut above and go out of their way to tend to every need. When you travel as often as I do it is the little things that count. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review.

The Team and I are so pleased that we met your expectations. It is always such a pleasure to know that we contributed to a lovely stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Another business trip to Cape Town and this Hotel never disappoints! The staff is always helpful and friendly and will go out of their way to assist and make your stay pleasant. In my opinion, this hotel serves the BEST BREAKFAST!
Without a doubt, this is the hotel I want to stay at when in Cape Town!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your delightful review!!

The Team and I are really pleased that we could make your stay that much more comfortable.

Needless to say, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Newlands

Property: Southern Sun Newlands
Address: 7 Main Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Newlands 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers that prefer to be outside the city centre, the Southern Sun Newlands is the perfect choice in Cape Town. Situated in this leafy garden suburb the hotel is close to the city and its many attractions, but quiet enough for a restful night’s sleep. The decor of the hotel is truly African and luxurious and its proximity to both the Newlands cricket and rugby stadiums is a bonus for many visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, South African Hotels and HotelsClick so you can book your Southern Sun Newlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Newlands Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing