We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Newlands
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, South Africa
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Service was good and this include transport department. i was taken on time and the driver was very sweet. The welcoming by the people in the hotel was good. Rooms were neat and were cleaned every day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nosiphiwo-delubom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely feedback.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that your experience with our driver was great.
I shall be sure to share your feedback with the team, especially the Concierge Department.

In addition to the above the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    128
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
114
63
18
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hello all
We stayed at Southern Sun in December, 2013 when we came for our son's graduation in UCT. We still remember the hotel's hospitality and breakfast all the time with nostalgia. we havent found anything yet comparable to the hospitality, service and good food we got from Southern Sun. Our best regards to Nelson and Ernest from the Breakfast shift. We will never forget them. Hope they remember us still! :) Naina, Gulamali and Alykhan Vira.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nainavira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, albeit 7 months ago.

It is indeed a pleasure to know that you still reminisce about our hotel and in particular Nelson and Ernest. The "Dream Team" is on again this morning and I shall definately inform them about your complimentary comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The service was absolutely amazing !! Could not believe the service at this hotel. They just did everything to make the stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are great. Great central location and will defintely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ro0n_Pretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for staying at Southern Sun Newlands. The Team and I appreciate your custom.

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to our hotel, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If u don't mind staying away from the central cape town, this is probably the best hotel. Very courteous staff, free fast wifi, very good rooms.
The location is also very good as there are many things on walking distance like the Cavendish Square mall, Pick n Pay, Newlands cricket stadium, Newlands Brewries and Kirstenbosh botanical garden is just 5 ams away. The view from some of the rooms is breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunal5988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
The Team and I thank you for your fantastic and detailed review!

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the nearby surrounds added to your comfort.

We look forward to seeing you soon, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The room was lovely with excellent service
The access to the wireless was easy and fast connection. The room service staff were absolutely friendly and did an excellent job. I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ntombizamacira X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back, in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Also the most incredible value for money!! Can't actually understand how it can be so reasonably priced for such an outstanding hotel - it has everything you look for in a hotel costing 2-3 times as much - immaculate white cotton bedding on supremely comfortable beds (and a twin room has 2 DOUBLE beds - not singles), in-room WI-FI, superb breakfast inclusive in rate, flat screen TV etc. The staff are also key to the magic here - every single staff member from the doormen, waiters, receptionists to the managers - are professional, friendly, chatty - they make you feel at home. (They seem to have something special - I think they are all very happy in their jobs there?! - quite rare.) Nothing is too much trouble and there are lots of little touches we enjoyed eg. the free daily newspapers, lemon iced tea and chocolate nuts on the table in the foyer, or the fact that we wanted some extra milk for our coffee in the room and they just gave us a big jug of milk with no charge. They had a free Thursday cocktail hour where we were treated to delicious wine and canapés and one manager hosted it and soon everyone was chatting about the World Cup. This hotel also gives one free access to the Sports Science Institute for one's fitness / swimming needs. A superbly central hotel for the Southern suburbs attractions like Kirstenbosch Gardens, mountain trails or shopping (Cavendish). We will be back, hopefully soon!!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain facing room if you want to look at Table Mountain. Ask for a twin if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevangwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your delightful and detailed review.

The entire Team thanks you for taking the time to furnish us with such a lovely review and for sharing your experience!

We are pleased that we created such great memories and hope that we can do so again, in the not too distant future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

In Southern Sun Newlands hotel, I had experienced one of the most amazing stays, the staff are very descent, helpful and professional, rooms are well furnished and clean, I also enjoyed the complimentary in room WiFi access, nice food and the best famous Indian restaurant in town "Bihari",,, Thanks for all whom maintain that good presentable image,, for sure I'd love to repeat that experience whenever in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Table View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your delightful review! The Team and I thank you.

It was indeed our pleasure to host you and to have contributed to a fantastic stay.

In addition to the above we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
4.4 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
4.7 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Newlands

Property: Southern Sun Newlands
Address: 7 Main Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Newlands 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers that prefer to be outside the city centre, the Southern Sun Newlands is the perfect choice in Cape Town. Situated in this leafy garden suburb the hotel is close to the city and its many attractions, but quiet enough for a restful night’s sleep. The decor of the hotel is truly African and luxurious and its proximity to both the Newlands cricket and rugby stadiums is a bonus for many visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Newlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Newlands Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing