We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Pretoria- possibly S. Africa”
Review of La Madeleine

La Madeleine
Ranked #13 of 693 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At La Madeleine we invite you to savour the wonderful world of bistronomy where classic French and Belgian cuisine de terroir country recipes are combined with high skill bistronomic techniques at affordable prices.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best in Pretoria- possibly S. Africa”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

After trying one after another of those up-market shopping mall restaurants, we finally made our way here. The service was stellar -truly professional, friendly, and not insanely subservient, like too many places here. The food was excellent - great fresh King prawns from Mozambique, excellent mussel appetizer with an Indonesian flair. My wife wasn't too thrilled with the veal, so we ordered another plate of prawns. Deserts were excellent. Atmosphere elegant, natural fire burning. Best meal we've had in a month of traveling - I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bensonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    75
    24
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Expierence”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

No menus, Your options are described by the owner in a heavy french accent, I listen for words I know and then order that. It of course is never what I would expect and looks like something on the food channel, fancy. Worth the occasion visit, bit pricey otherwise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasAtkinson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Be prepared for the best”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Daniel is possibly the most creative chef in the country, and his dishes, though always conceived of on a traditional base, are simply some of the best you are likely to encounter not only in South Africa, but globally. Though we no longer live in Pretoria , this is an experience we try to repeat at least once a year, when we are there for business.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HunterBloemfontein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polokwane, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Pretoria”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A must try when you are a foodie. The owner chef explains each dish in a way that your mouth waters, no written menus. Fine dining experience in a relaxed environment. The service is fast and excellent. Be sure to end your wvening with their amazing chees selections.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mariadupless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely rustic food”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Without fail probably the best place in Pretoria for Sunday lunch! Home cooking at it best with a lovely atmosphere, attentive service, good wine and lovely food. Again one of this places we keep on going back to, a visit to Pretoria is just never fully complete without a visit to this charming restaurant which seems like it had a facelift not so long ago. Lovely seating outside....weather permitting but even the winters in Pretoria can be so mild that seating outside is possible all year round. Highly recommended! Bookings essential

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sTcO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Madeleine also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to La Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing