We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blu Saffron

Blu Saffron
Ranked #9 of 668 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

What a lovely restaurant. The maître d told us about the specials of the day so eloquently and vividly that we wanted him to start again! The service, food, wine and ambiance were all outstanding. A little pricey but well worth it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericksons4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    102
    18
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was my first visit there and I was very impressed with the overall experience. The too loud background music and non-working hand dryer in the ladies bathroom are the only two negative comments I can make. The rest of my experience was outstanding – a small menu with well-thought through offerings, good service and great wine. The quality of the food was very good presented in an appetizing way and all courses of the meals were served to the entire group within seconds – for me, this is a true mark of a restaurant set on offering good service. I also feel that the prices charged were on par with the offering and recommend Blu Saffron with no hesitation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ADavis1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food...glorious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Wow, Saturday night was my first visit to this restaurant and definitely not my last....the rump was perfectly done....also try the smoked salmon for a starter....

The wine list was extensive (maybe a bit expensive) but wine was well chilled...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marais M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Splendid experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I entertained two friends this evening and we enjoyed a delicious meal. Excellent service, a tantalising salad, a succulent rib eye steak, excellent wine and a mouth-watering dessert in a lovely ambience. What more could one desire?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smiler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Only one word for it: awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

On a recent visit to SA, were were invited to Blu Saffron by friends who wanted a special evening with us, and to treat us!
I can say without hesitation that this is the worst restaurant I have been to in South Africa! The waitress was unprofessional, untrained, unsure and basically appalling! The maitre d' read the specials and made them sound delicious and wonderful.
Japanese tempura prawns? Soggy prawns in a thick batter, nothing Japanese or tempura about them! "Fresh" sole dried out and tasteless, very obviously from the freezer. Sirloin on the bone "done to perfection", one needed a chainsaw to get through the sinews and ended up exhausted with a tiny portion of tough meat. Duck a l'orange. Well, the maitre d' joked when reading the specials that the duck came fresh from the golf course. I think it died there, of old age. Tough and rubbery, it was left untouched. The vegetable side dishes had very clearly been hanging out in the kitchen for a few years - I never realised one could really mess up a vegetable mix to make it completely inedible. Or maybe their speciality is hundred-year-old beans?
Needless to say we complained and another host was most apologetic and didn't charge for the most offensive dishes. One out of 4 dishes was edible. We were offered dessert, but decided not to risk anything further and cleared out as fast as we could.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
18 Thank FernwehZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blu Saffron also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Blu Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing