We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest food and great service”
Review of Blu Saffron

Blu Saffron
Ranked #10 of 687 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Sandton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good honest food and great service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good food and wide enough menu. Service always good and friendly. Sitting outside on summer evenings is always great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FatDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    105
    19
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Blue Saffron - Pricey but worth it”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a dinner with friends at Blue Saffron at the Pretoria Country club in May 2014. The food was excellent, the service friendly and professional and the private room ideal for our party. The food is pricey, but in relation to the quality and service, not unreasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fkafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently enjoyed a family lunch at the restaurant. I had the Snitchel and it was awesome. Our waitress (think it was Bianca) was brilliant and very efficient.

Will be back soon

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mauritz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

An average experience. The map and address on the pate is incorrect which lead me to phoning the reataurant for it's location.

My girlfriend had the soup which was more like spiced water. And i had the fillet which was overcooked and sent back but still not that great 2nd time around.

Waiters were not really trained well as all our glasses which we didn't need were not taken away along with dirty plates.

The best part of our experience was the view which is the only thing leading me to return for some drinks.

Helpful?
15 Thank ChristoPieterse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Giving Blu Saffron a miss for a while”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Blu Saffron used to be one of my favourite restaurants in Pretoria. This is where I would take friends for a special occasion or where we would go just for a family lunch or dinner. However, during our last few visits I was disappointed with the food. Twice my fillet arrived underdone. I ordered medium and it arrived very rare. The next time I ordered medium to well (based on my previous experience). Yet it arrived rare once again. The chips had a funny aftertaste and the vegetables were definitely undercooked on a number of occasions. The menu definitely needs an update. I am extremely bored having to listen politely to the same specials being described over and over again. Even though I love the venue I decided to give Blu Saffron a miss for a while until management institute better quality control and also update the menu somewhat.

Helpful?
12 Thank estianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blu Saffron also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Blu Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing