We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a breath of fresh air in the middle of Pretoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark was such pleasant experience. It gives you a lovely view of Pretoria at night and day. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The staff were very professional and always at your service. Lastly the breakfast was a PERFECT way to start my day. Thank you Holiday INN

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Igor4President
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

A big thanks to Holiday Inn Express in Synnyside Pretoria. I recently stayed with them and was very impressed by the helpful staff, clean facilities, comfortable rooms and great breakfast!

Keep up the good work guys, will see you again!

Room Tip: Higher floor have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helgard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Helgard M

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Sunnypark Pretoria.

I am Glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you received awesome service, our staff works hard in making sure all our guests are extremely happy and receive excellent service.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon on your next visit.

Kind Reagrds
Lebo Ramasodi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Holiday Inn Express Hotel immaculate service and friendliest staff will cater for all your needs, when staying over for a short visit or even a long holiday. Surely the best breakfast meal one would ever taste. A must destination when visiting the executive city of South Africa.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Armand S

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Sunnypark Pretoria.

I am Glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you received great service, our staff works hard in making sure all our guests are extremely happy and receive excellent service.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Lebo Ramasodi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn Express this past weekend and I am blown away by the professional service they gave me, from arrival to departure. The Rooms were clean and ready. The buffet breakfast the following morning was a good spread of good old hearty breakfast foods. Overall just an amazing stay. Thanx Guys.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Ggrieve

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Sunnypark Pretoria.

I am Glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you received an amazing service, our staff works hard in making sure all our guests are happy and receive excellent service.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Lebo Ramasodi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Staying here you are close to the government departments in the center of Pretoria and are on top of a mall with a selection of chain restaurants and a very nice Virgin Active gym. The parking is easy, although not free which is bizarre in this country. There is limited free Wi-Fi which is also unusual for this price point. That’s where the good points end.

The rooms are small, the aircon is weak, noisy and ineffective and the cleanliness is borderline at best. The shower is ok and the bed is comfortable if you can overlook the selection of mystery stains on the linen. The breakfast was bad. Security at the Mall entrance stopped us from walking outside after dark “for our own safety”.

If you face east there is a nightclub on the street which blares music into the small hours. If you do end up staying here try for a west-facing (even-numbered) room as low down as possible so you can take the stairs rather than wait for the painfully slow lifts.

You can do much better for this price in this area.

Room Tip: The lower your room the less time you will waste waiting for lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear BadgerCT,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I Stayed at the HI Express Sunnypark Pretoria for a couple of nights. The front office staff were helpful and kind, the room was a bit on the small side but cozy enough and clean for a short stay. Good breakfast and I loved the fact that it connects onto the Sunnypark mall direct without having to get out of the Hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khacheso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Mr Khacheso

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Sunnypark Pretoria.

I am Glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you received great service, our staff works hard in making sure all our guests are happy and receive excellent service.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon on your next visit.

Kind Reagrds
Lebo Ramasodi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed here in July 2012.

Decent breakfast and standard rooms to be expected in Holiday Inn Express hotels.

Initially I was a little concerned with all the reports about how dodgy the area is, but I decided to chance it anyway.

Connection to the mall is convenient for groceries or fast food. I wasn't brave enough to walk around in the immediate area at night.

But during the day I walked from the hotel all the way to down-town Pretoria and the Parliament buildings without any issues.

Hotel staff were able to organise a taxi easily enough to get to the Gautrain.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear KGB777

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback on you recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Pretoria Sunnypark, it is Highly appreciated.

We are sorry to hear about the concern with the reports about the dodgy area, we have never experienced any incidents around and the securities in the hotel and in the mall are always there to make you feel safe.

We are glad you did walk through our beautiful area to see the Union Buildings without any issues.

We hope to welcome you again when you return to Pretoria South Africa.

Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Sunnypark Pretoria.

Kind Regards

Lebo Ramasodi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.9 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 74 in Pretoria
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#15 of 74 in Pretoria
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
0.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Premier Hotel Pretoria
#17 of 74 in Pretoria
207 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark

Address: C/O Jeppe and Trevenna | Sunnyside, Pretoria 136, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range: £40 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Holiday Inn Express Pretoria Sunnypark is ideally located in the heart of the Capital City of South Africa, Pretoria. Located above the newly renovated cosmopolitan Sunnypark Shopping Centre. The Holiday Inn Express Pretoria Sunnypark is surrounded by embassies, consulates, goverment departments and historical buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing