We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest house, welcoming atmosphere”
Review of Alpine Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Attitude
Ranked #61 of 360 Pretoria B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Great guest house, welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

To be honest, it is the staff that make this place. Very approachable and always keen to help, arranging transportation, booking restaurants etc. Rooms are a good size, well equipped - including international ac adapters in the room I stayed in. OK, there was no telephone in the room, but seriously? Does anyone use landlines when travelling these days? Desk phones are just unnecessary clutter...

I'd definitely recommend this place, and look forward to staying there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    8
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
8
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

One's first impression on arrival is that it is not the usual hotel. The main vehicle entrance, which is a solid piece of glass gate was spotless clean, the "weird" front façade - invites you for a rewarding experience. Reception was very friendly and helpful, but I would have appreciated help with my luggage. My room was decorated professionally (no hotel chain décor!): crisp white linen, solid matrass, I couldn't fault anything. The bathroom walls, cupboards were all glass! Breakfast is served from 07:00, but on special request can be served earlier. I will return to try the wine list.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away for the street front (not that noise is a major problem)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmond v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

PROs:
- excellent location in relation to The Financial Services Board in Pretoria
- great rooms (stylish decor and in-room amenities)
- slick outdoor furnishings and decor
- excellent breakfast spread (not your usual/boring selections) and service from the morning host

CONs:
- after a long flight in from Cape Town, upon arrival at Alpine around 18h30 - i was advised that "room service" was essentially limited to one meal option only - specifically, a fish dish. i would have expected a few more options (i.e. burger and fries, etc.) in light of the cost per room per night

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brad_capetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpineattitude, Owner at Alpine Attitude, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Brad,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Alpine Attitude on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you liked the South African design of the hotel and that it is so conveniently situated to the offices for your business trips!

At Alpine Attitude, we tend to serve Gourmet dishes, but are also more than willing to provide you with any kind of request. Please ask your travel agent or PA to let us know a few hours in advance that you would like dinner upon your arrival, we would certainly arrange a few options for you – even a Gourmet Burger and Chips dish could be provided!

We look forward to seeing you at your next visit!

Kind regards,
Charmaine (owner AA)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Alpine Attitude is by far my favorite place to stay in the Pretoria/JoBurg area and one of my favorite places in the world (if not my absolute favorite). I'm hesitant to even write a review because I don't want it to become so busy that I can't book in! Since its opening in 2008 (?) I've stayed at Alpine at least 15 times (maybe more).....and in every single room and self-catering unit. Charmaine, Lucky, Aaron, Kirsten and the rest of the team go out of their way to make every stay enjoyable and easy (for business and fun). I always feel like I am "coming home" when I arrive into the reception area. I've brought friends and colleagues here and everyone always has the same reaction....they love it. We've celebrated birthdays, holidays and life here....every night and occasion is special because of the food (amazing!), people (competent, responsive and fun), rooms (every detail thought of) and the décor (the photos are amazing and still don't do Alpine justice!).

Room Tip: Every room at Alpine is unique and all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My husband and I take regular romantic breaks.....Alpine Attitude Boutique Hotel is one of our favourite getaways. The modern, cutting edge architecture, gourmet cuisine and well trained/informed, friendly, professional staff are the reasons we love this little treasure. We have stayed in various of the rooms (each room has a totally different character and theme) but my favourite is the "Funky Room" which is very spacious, lovely and sunny and ultra mod. An added bonus is the fact that this room has it's own fully equipped little kitchenette and loyalty bar.....I'd call it a Suite! Joyce van Aswegen, Pretoria

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I didn't have any of the problems the other reviewers had. The room was lovely and spacious, the aircon wasn't too noisy, and the wifi worked just fine in my room.

The people who work there are the best part - open and willing to help you with everything. The breakfast is quite delicious as well!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Kristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Not only is the décor and architecture unique, this Boutique Hotel is magnificent. The food was amazing, the chef did a fantastic job cooking delicious dishes and the service was great. The staff was warm and always pleasant to be around. Our stay was a great experience overall and when I'm in Pretoria I'm definitely come back. Keep up with the superb service.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonkululeko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#5 of 73 in Pretoria
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town Lodge Menlo Park
Town Lodge Menlo Park
#34 of 73 in Pretoria
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
#12 of 73 in Pretoria
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hudson House
Hudson House
#16 of 360 in Pretoria
62 reviews
1.0 mi away
Foreigners Friend Guest House
Foreigners Friend Guest House
#29 of 360 in Pretoria
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moroccan House
Moroccan House
#5 of 360 in Pretoria
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Attitude

Property: Alpine Attitude
Address: 522 Atterbury Rd | Menlopark, Pretoria 0102, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 360 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Attitude 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Attitude is an exclusive 4 star boutique hotel, perfectly located on Atterbury Road, just off the N1 highway. Guests are given the opportunity to immerse themselves in local art, culture and ambience. A unique shopping experience awaits with Menlyn Park less than 1km away. Each room has its own identity and represents an innovative work from a local designer. The spacious apartments include a self-catering option to accommodate business travelers and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alpine Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing