We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical sports tavern”
Review of Eastwoods Tavern

Eastwoods Tavern
Ranked #127 of 693 Restaurants in Pretoria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Pretoria
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Typical sports tavern”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I went there with my colleagues before the rugby. Good ambience, but the fodd was njot good. I had rump steak. Don't go there yo have a good meal. It is OK to have a few beers before the game.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    35
    21
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing Experience”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Highly unimpressed with the service we received from Eastwoods. About two weeks ago called for information about making a group reservation and made the booking a few days later. We booked two tables for pre drinks and a meal for about 30 people for the Man City Supersport United game at Loftus this last Sunday. We stopped in on Saturday night for a bite and some drinks and I went to the managers office to confirm our booking and was told all is sorted and they will have two tables of 15 outside on the deck. On arrival on Sunday, we were told of a R50 cover charge for each person. This was the first they mentioned anything about cover. Our group decided to visit another pub just around the corner where we had a great experience and meal, however due to the large group it was difficult to get hold of everyone at short notice and unfortunately some of the group did not get the message of the change of plan. Three of our group arrived at Eastwoods and the lady at the door said that we had agreed the cover charge when we made the booking, so they went ahead and paid, when they heard of the change of plans a few minutes later, Eastwoods refused to refund their money. At the end of the day our group was closer to 50 people and unfortunately we were not all able to meet before the game which was a huge disappointment. None of our group will visit Eastwoods again in the future after this experince and will be sure to notify others of this.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rayprodigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“You should be ashamed of yourselves, Greedy exploitation..”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were part of a group of 35 people of a Manchester City supporters club that had reserved a table here prior to the Man City / SuperSport match. At no stage in the reservation process was there a mention of a R50 cover charge, despite the female at the entrance collecting the money stubbornly refusing to concede that. The group started arriving, and a few people decided to pay and take their seats but the vast majority .i.e. 32 people decided, out of principle, to go to an alternate venue and had the most fantastic, meal and social time. When the 3 that had paid realised it was a damp squid after 10 minutes there, the asked for a refund and, yes you guessed it, it was blankly refused with a bad attitude on top of that. This mean that 38 people will all tell their families and social circle about the bad experience they had and soon enough this bad treatment will affect their business. So their loss was R6000 down the drain, but more importantly none of this group and their extended families and social circles will ever support this establishment again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gazzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to have a few drinks and enjoy the night!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I went here for a late dinner and drinks and had a great time. The place has a very open feel and there were plenty of heaters to keep it warm inside. The food was decent and there are several different options to choose from. Our waiter recommended the steaks and told us to stay away from the pizza. If you want a cool place to hang out, meet a few people and have some drinks then this is a great place. If you are looking for a quiet restaurant that focuses on its cuisine then you should go somewhere else. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skekich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“went there but dissapointed”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I couldn't believe they charge R5 for tap drinking water! Toilets unpleasant. worse of all, you get charged an extra R50 if you want to share a meal with a friend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Monk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eastwoods Tavern also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Eastwoods Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing