We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
174 Premier Guest House
Ranked #39 of 369 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I recently had to travel to Pretoria at short notice. The guest house I've stayed in before was fully booked but the host recommended Cascades. This was very fortuitous as this is truly a perfect place to stay.
Location is perfect, about 3-5 minutes from Brooklyn Mall and surrounding restaurants. The hosts are gracious and extremely helpful. Rooms are spotless with great facilities down to the rusks !
Breakfast was freshly prepared and very tasty.
Highly recommended, would not want to stay anywhere else should I return. With the current Pound/Rand exchange rate a bargain as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakyjowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansie7ster, Owner at 174 Premier Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Ha ha, what an exceIlent pseudonym! I always wonder whether the international guests know about and appreciate the concept of rusks, thanks for this comment. Your review is highly appreciated; it portrays what we aim for. Hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

It was the most amazing place to stay at. The hosts were so kind and generous. It felt like home away from home. 10 stars to John and Estelle who made us feel utterly welcome. Thanks so much for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tertia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansie7ster, Owner at 174 Premier Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

So glad you enjoyed our guesthouse Tertia! There is no better compliment for a guesthouse than feeling like home away from home, you made our day, thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

They really went out of their way for our special needs... It was our son's wedding and I had to do the wedding cake... They had been very helpful and supportive... Excellent location, safe environment.... The rooms were very spacious and well equipped...


  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andalenestrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansie7ster, Owner at 174 Premier Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thanks Andalene, we enjoyed having your lively group here with the lovely young people!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have recently relocated to Pretoria and needed accommodation for the whole family for a month before we were able to take occupation of our new home.

Cascades offer us their flat at a reduced price for the entire period. The facilities were excellent and surpassed our expectation. In addition the gardens made it feel like home, which offered maximum privacy and we were not even aware of other guests.

We strongly recommend them for both family or business stays.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gawie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansie7ster, Owner at 174 Premier Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Hi Gawie R,
I hope you and your family are settling comfortably into your new home, moving stays one of the biggest jobs ever!
I am glad that we have been instrumental in making this period of transition less uncomfortable and stressful. We wish you the best for the future…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I am spending three nights at this guest house. The bedrooms are located around the perimeter of an attractive garden and seating area. They are spacious, well presented with a decent internet connection and I have enjoyed a superb sleep in a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was fine and the overall value-for-money is very good.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Smiler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansie7ster, Owner at 174 Premier Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thanks Smiler_8, I am glad you enjoyed staying here!
Eduard and Asina spend a lot of time in the garden to make it the haven it is in the city.
I find a proper internet connection to be essential when travelling, so I am glad you found our internet connection to be good.
A good sleep, a filling, fresh breakfast and value-for-money is what we strive for, so thanks for the compliment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We recently rented the entire B and B in Pretoria for our destination wedding close to our family. All our friends from far could check in and stay and visit for the entire week. We did most of the work ourselves - arranging flowers and laying the tables. With the awesome assistance of the staff at Cascades we arranged for all the catering. We had 80 guests. On the day of the wedding we received everybody in the breakfast room and outside area with the awesome perfume of the wisteria profusely blooming. The conference facility easily converted into the perfect "church" for the ceremony. Champagne were served at one of the many fountains. Then we moved to the amazing garden of the owner. We needed no decor since the exquisite natural background did everything for an amazing ambiance.
The staff helped a lot and I cannot thank them enough. Serving breakfast everyday to all our guests and helping with receiving all of the rentals for the wedding. We did not need to drive anywhere for pictures - the surroundings were more than great for the photographer.
We loved that we could walk to get anything we needed at the shopping centre down the street. From nouvelle cuisine pizzas to clothes, flowers and supermarket to boot.
Thankyou Cascades! for hosting our intimate week long wedding, making visiting and catching up so easy.

Room Tip: If you are a naturalist get the room near the pond for the sound of frogs, but if you are the bride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ane J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansie7ster, Owner at 174 Premier Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear ane jr

It was such a pleasure having your group here! Our facilities were so well utilised and I have never seen our property so beautiful. The garden fairies played the game and you chose your date very well. All in all a pleasurable experience. Thanks for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Cascades is larger than the average S African B and B. The rooms vary in size but some are very generous indeed. Nicely furnished, good breakfasts and peaceful, pretty garden. Security is good although parking a bit restricted. Some rooms lack privacy (big windows with other guests walking past) The gas heaters provided for chilly evenings are effective but a bit tricky to start. The B and B is in a quiet residential street but only five minutes from Brooklyn for dining out. Probably better if you have a car.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms which look onto the car park or main paths
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizo2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansie7ster, Owner at 174 Premier Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Hi lizo2121,

Great that you enjoyed Cascades, our garden is our pride and joy and the good location probably one of the best reasons for staying with us!
It probably sounds terribly lame, but I never realised that this room has no lace curtains, most others have and I will immediately get some. Thanks for the reminder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
3.4 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
3.8 mi away
Amper Bo Guest House
Amper Bo Guest House
#217 of 369 in Pretoria
7 reviews
10.5 mi away
No photo provided
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 74 in Pretoria
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 74 in Pretoria
129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Constantia Guest Lodge
Constantia Guest Lodge
#37 of 115 in Pretoria
17 reviews
3 mi away
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Premier Hotel Pretoria
#18 of 74 in Pretoria
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 174 Premier Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 174 Premier Guest House

Address: 174 Premier Avenue | Waterkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa (Formerly Cascades Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: £66 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 174 Premier Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish bed and breakfast and self catering accommodation in Waterkloof, central Pretoria. Relax in our tranquil surrounds. Enjoy our superior facilities and those little extras designed to make yours a total experience in excellence. Stylish en-suite bedrooms have private entrances. Satellite TV, wireless internet, desk, electronic safe, fan and heater, fridge, microwave oven, crockery, cutlery, tea and coffee with rusks, laundry service and secure off street parking. Credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your 174 Premier Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing