We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience due to owners rudeness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Constantia Manor Guest House
Ranked #20 of 364 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The only downfall of this guest house is the owner Hanna.

Our experience with dealing with her was the worse experience ever. Her attitude towards us was appalling and definitely did not reflect someone who has been in the industry for a long time and knows what customer service truly is.

We paid to use the venue for a function with our family and friends and had a set idea of what the venue layout should look like, and besides her approach and tone towards us she refused to let us change the layout out of tables and chairs for the venue. That is not what we paid for.

In future she should definitely inform people that the layout cannot be changed before they book the venue.

Besides this incident she sent me emails using CAPITAL LETTERS in mid sentence which is rude and unacceptable!!!

In saying all of the above her staff on the other hand were exceptional and definitely calmed us down and made the experience more bearable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MD_JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONSTANTIA_MANOR, Owner at Constantia Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

No mentioning of the beautiful well prepared food that we made? What about the beautiful garden or the layout of the dinning room? And the laughter of the function goers? It seemed as if someone was having a good time???
Our dinning room has a expensive beautiful new carpet so we agreed to a layout in some correspondence as we would like to shift the tables our self's because of possible damages to the carpet.

This was a small function held at our guesthouse. The planner that corresponded with us agreed to all beforehand but wanted to change everything half an hour before the function. If you agreed upon a certain tariff you can not just do as you like just because you have "paid"!!! A small price does not buy a BMW.
We have also agreed to use our ladies bar as we have a full liquor licence. This was ignored and they brought there own liquor!!!

The personal attack on my wife was uncalled for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed over for one night on a business trip from George. Had to pop in quickly to book in and leave for a meeting, but all was arranged without a hitch. The service was great, rooms neat and clean. The young lady that helped us was very friendly, funny and helpful. Price is very reasonable and I will stay over again when visiting Pretoria.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasperScholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONSTANTIA_MANOR, Owner at Constantia Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your appreciation. We work hard to upkeep all areas of the establishment.
It is rewarding to get a "THANK YOU".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Friendly people, friendly environment, we had a nice stay and we'll eager to go again and stay in the same place. also, the Guest house help us in getting a taxi to tour us around, they were also very profissional and very friendly. we felt as if we were home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sofia-Norman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONSTANTIA_MANOR, Owner at Constantia Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Thank you so much Please come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Staff was extremely pleasant and very accommodating. Beautiful gardens and water fountains. very nice/clean room with full service breakfast made to order. Overall we could not have asked for a better place to stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lester H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONSTANTIA_MANOR, Owner at Constantia Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Thank you so much Please come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

The place was perfect nd everythng was xao xap 100% friendly stuff and friendly owner Wow the breakfast was delicious the plc nd room was clean &beautiful actuly nothing to regret,good rate and big bedroom wth everything in sid!!!e jea we wish to go there again nd soon we w because we enjoyed every momentl, from Rudzi&Ndivhu Couples 4rm Limpopo

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ndiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONSTANTIA_MANOR, Owner at Constantia Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Thank you so much Please come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The venue is very comfortable, good facilities, easy to access. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lunch could have been a bit more extensive. Not enough clean coffee cups were available throughout the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONSTANTIA_MANOR, Owner at Constantia Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Thank you so much Please come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My 1st Choice in Pretoria, service & room is always superb, friendly-family like yet also professional. Whilst i forgot to book dinner, I was still able to get a meal. Close to hi & bi ways & menlyn mall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Spencer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONSTANTIA_MANOR, Owner at Constantia Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for the positive review - always pleasant to have the regular guests happy over many stays! Spence you are a champ and we always look forward to your stay. Dinner and lunch should be pre-booked but we can always provide something fresh from the kitchen at no sweat. As the owners we stay closely involved in all operations and love our job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.4 mi away
The Capital Menlyn Maine
The Capital Menlyn Maine
#25 of 73 in Pretoria
20 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
2.0 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Opikopi Guest House
Opikopi Guest House
#2 of 364 in Pretoria
275 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glen Marion Guest House
Glen Marion Guest House
#7 of 364 in Pretoria
161 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Angel's Place Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantia Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantia Manor Guest House

Address: 521 Robert Craib Street | Constantia Park, Pretoria 0010, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: £51 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantia Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantia Manor Guesthouse in Constantia Park, Pretoria East has 15 luxury en-suite rooms in upmarket style and decor. The accommodation on offer is 4 star quality at its best! A tranquil garden setting surrounds the Manor with 10 rooms in hotel style and 5 rooms with garden entrances. Although we offer different categories of rooms, all the rooms have a touch of class that match our stars. We offer a scrumptious breakfast as part of the overnight package and many a traveler has found it to be the best part of the stay at Constantia Manor. We prepare all food fresh and strives to bring our guests just the best and ensure they will remember and visit us again. The Manor with its green garden surrounding is the ideal venue for small functions like celebratory dinners, corporate breakfasts and tea parties galore. We compile menus to suit your requests and everyone's delight. Pretoria East, where we are situated lends it towards easy access from highways and byways with shopping and business on the doorstep. Our location is an asset not to be missed - near major hospitals, training facilities and business hubs of Pretoria East. A night at Constantia Manor Guesthouse is just what a tired traveler and shopper have to experience to find peace, tranquility and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Constantia Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing