We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Faircity Roodevallei
Nearby Hotels
Kievits Kroon(Pretoria)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Illyria House(Pretoria)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 224(Pretoria)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
77
46
20
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
46
20
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary coffee and teahuge successconference facilitiesweekend breakawaypeace and quietan excellent hotelgo the extra milehotel is situatedstar hotelthank you very muchhoneymoon suitebeautiful gardenenjoyed my stayattention to detaildamvenuewedding
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We had a great time, service was excellent. Food was devine and lots of variety to choose from, from african cuisine, sea food to mention the few. the style of Buffet. We were a group of 30 people and we all fell special and were attended to even thou the resturant was full.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Vuvu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Vuvu Z

Thank you for your positive response
We are so pleased you and your party enjoyed the hospitality and fine food Roodevallei has to offer.

Our buffets have a variety of dishes from various cultures and countries across the world and change on a daily basis. We hope to welcome you and your party back in the near future to experience more of our hospitality and cuisine

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I booked 3 different groups that arrived at different times and days. I found the booking process easy and even easier once the people started to arrive. My group consisted of 75 people from all over South Africa, and they quickly found the place. Roodevallei was very accommodating and helpful when some people cancelled at the last minute and others just arrived without prior notification. Roodevallei’s reception office received all the guests and allocated their rooms in a friendly and professional way which gave me the freedom and peace of mind to concentrate on other priorities. The group reported that they felt at home and that they were treated with excellent service, accommodation and meals. The grounds are beautiful, green and lush. Even if one comes for a brainstorming and work, one still feels relaxed and rested in these peaceful surroundings. Our guests could move around freely, day or night, without any concerns for their safety. Some delegates made use of the babysitting services offered by Roodevallei and were very pleased with their genuine care. The billing was clear, accurate and a pleasure to pay after what we experienced.

I came to Roodevallei the week after our conference in a personal capacity and brought my family along, and found that Roodvallei’s hospitality, environment and staff kept the same high standards with us as with the group. They are consistent in their hospitality, and I look forward to spending a weekend there again.

Room Tip: Double store accommodation for business and the little units next to river for more privicay
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieTCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear DebbieTCN

Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are so pleased your conference went well and that your delegates made full use of all the facilities available.
We pride ourselves on our beautiful landscapes and the serenity that accompanies it. It is indeed a tranquil place to come and relax and still be close to the city

Thank you for staying at the property on a personal capacity with your family to experience our individual hospitality and not only conferencing.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family as well as any other conference you book with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The hotel is still completing refurbishments and I am sure when done it will move up a notch. My room on this occasion was small but clean. Bathroom furnishings was fantastic. Cleaning staff are good. Negatives include water collecting in the shower and walls being paper thin. Hotel does however offer free WiFi

Room Tip: Get the honeymoon suite.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Good day sir,

thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback on your stay. Yes we are doing some refurbishment work on the property (which we are excited about) and your comments will definitely guide us as to where we need to focus our efforts. Any other feedback will be more than appreciated.

Thank you for complimenting our cleaning staff. I will ensure your feedback is relayed to them...

We look forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for 8 days for a chess conference. Lovely setting, very friendly, helpful staff that go the extra mile. if you want peace and quiet this is for you. But if you want to get around it is worth hiring a car or you will need to rely on hiring a driver to get to Jo'berg which is an hour and Pretoria about 45 mins.
This place is a bird watchers dream! But the pool is very small, gym equipment dated and whilst buffet food is decent, it lacked variety at times. They advertise burgers and sandwiches for lunch but when these were not available we were told only at the weekend. The when we asked again on the weekend another excuse was made. Guess they want you to keep eating/spending on the buffet and it's that or nothing! Laundry was closed on a weekend when I needed it. Shower room - you can't 'throw a cat' in the space provided, but rooms were clean and well kept.
Biggest let down. INTERNET CONNECTION WAS VERY POOR, especially for a conference.
Our group had relied on this aspect and it was a JOKE trying to connect, download or even email :(
Just make sure you go there with a car unless you want to have the feeling of being stranded! There is nothing around for miles. Overall : it's a nice place for those wishing to get away from EVERYTHING! Average value for the money and it is the friendly staff that make this place worth the visit and they make up for some of the shortfalls.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raz9364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav H, General Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

At Faircity Roodevallei we appreciate honest and constructive feedback. And this review is both! So thank you!
Yes, Roodevallei is indeed somewhat remote and a perfect hideaway from the city’s hustle and bustle. It is a country style hotel north of Pretoria on the Pienaars River close to the Roodeplaat Dam. Yet it is only 15 minutes away from one of Pretoria's largest shopping centres, The Kollonade, and 20 minutes away from Lynnwood Bridge, Menlyn and the Gautrain. You will indeed need a car to drive there or we will gladly organise a shuttle for you.
We are widely known for our scrumptious buffets but we are working on improving our menu offering for those who prefer something smaller, especially over weekends. I am confident that you will find something suitable on your return!
We apologise for the Wi-Fi. Due to our close proximity to the river (lowest level in the area) we have had problems with connectivity, especially during your stay. We believe this has now been resolved. Please try our Wi-Fi out next time.
We hope to have the gym equipment replaced within the next year or so and we are also planning some exciting training alternatives to the gym. Watch this space!
Our laundry service is open 6 days a week, so we apologise that it was not available on a Sunday.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we trust that you will enjoy your stay even more when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I've used this venue several times for meetings, workshops and training sessions over the years and it is by far the best place in Gauteng for this kind of event. When I last used it, it didn't have the word 'fair city' in front of it, so I'm a little unsure whether this is the same place as the Roodevallei Country Lodge, but if it is, it's fabulous. I have special dietary needs and this place catered excellently to my needs. I use many of these conference venues regularly and none of them compare well in any way to this place. There's a long, long list of really awful spots in Gauteng. No other place makes special dietary needs such a breeze. With other places there's usually lots of drama at every meal and when I get tired to talking to managers, chefs and the like, I give up and look for what's available that I can eat even if it's desert only. At this place I get the meals done just right by chefs who are delighted at the challenge, making the workshops and meetings a breeze. some of my colleagues and i joke that we should buy shares in this business as they as so very good. With being so good comes being booked out way in advance as they are very popular. So book early and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyZam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav H, General Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Faircity has recently taken over Roodevallei Country Lodge and we are delighted that you experienced the service and hospitality that Roodevallei is so well known for. All our staff make a concerted effort to ensure that every guest's need is catered for. Our conference, event and wedding coordinators will ensure that all your requirements are met with a smile! And our reservationists will make endeavour to make your stay with us a memorable one. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews