We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 out of 10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Faircity Roodevallei
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“10 out of 10”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I will certainly remember Roodevallei for its stunning scenery and lovely atmosphere. It definitely qualify as luxury and cosy. I never knew that we had such beautiful place so close to the city. It’s amazing how the place just absorb you from the moment you set foot on their property. You just automatically go into relaxed mode. It is great for business meetings and also fantastic just for a weekend family getaway. For hospitality I can give Roodevallei a perfect 10 out of 10 as you could immediately feel that being friendly was not a job to them, it came naturally. Good food, good friendly service with great hospitality and beautiful scenery…..what more can you ask for. It's one hotel you'll never forget. I can recommend Roodevallei to anyone for any occasion.

**A special thanks to the people who assist me in arranging everything and helped me to make our stay memorable: Brian, Debbie, Barend and all the others whose names I can’t remember (sorry guys)….You were great and very helpful from start to finish. Hope to visit RV soon.

Vernice Williams
Matthew Goniwe School of Leadership
Johannesburg

Room Tip: You should definitly get a room that look out on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernicew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Vernicew

Thank you for the very nice review of the property.
It really is a magnificent property with all the beautiful landscapes. The peacefulnes and tranquility is so calming you forget you are a mere 30 minutes from the city centre.

Our staff are very accomodating and try assist as much as possible to ensure all our guests have a pleasant stay, one worth remembering for years to come.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    42
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
33
2
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2013

A recent confernce held for top executives in the country was held at Roodevallei. Delegates were happy with the level of service received from the lodge staff as well as the facilties that were accessible to them.
Friendly staff made it easy to relax despite having a very high status guest list.
Meals were pleasant and timely.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Nishana N

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the conference held at Faircity Roodevallei.

We are so pleased to hear the delegates of the conference enjoyed their stay with us.
We pride ourselves on our ability to have tailor made packages suitable for all levels of delegates and guests staying over.

We look forward to welcoming you and your group in the near future


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We had a great time, service was excellent. Food was devine and lots of variety to choose from, from african cuisine, sea food to mention the few. the style of Buffet. We were a group of 30 people and we all fell special and were attended to even thou the resturant was full.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vuvu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Vuvu Z

Thank you for your positive response
We are so pleased you and your party enjoyed the hospitality and fine food Roodevallei has to offer.

Our buffets have a variety of dishes from various cultures and countries across the world and change on a daily basis. We hope to welcome you and your party back in the near future to experience more of our hospitality and cuisine

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I booked 3 different groups that arrived at different times and days. I found the booking process easy and even easier once the people started to arrive. My group consisted of 75 people from all over South Africa, and they quickly found the place. Roodevallei was very accommodating and helpful when some people cancelled at the last minute and others just arrived without prior notification. Roodevallei’s reception office received all the guests and allocated their rooms in a friendly and professional way which gave me the freedom and peace of mind to concentrate on other priorities. The group reported that they felt at home and that they were treated with excellent service, accommodation and meals. The grounds are beautiful, green and lush. Even if one comes for a brainstorming and work, one still feels relaxed and rested in these peaceful surroundings. Our guests could move around freely, day or night, without any concerns for their safety. Some delegates made use of the babysitting services offered by Roodevallei and were very pleased with their genuine care. The billing was clear, accurate and a pleasure to pay after what we experienced.

I came to Roodevallei the week after our conference in a personal capacity and brought my family along, and found that Roodvallei’s hospitality, environment and staff kept the same high standards with us as with the group. They are consistent in their hospitality, and I look forward to spending a weekend there again.

Room Tip: Double store accommodation for business and the little units next to river for more privicay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieTCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear DebbieTCN

Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are so pleased your conference went well and that your delegates made full use of all the facilities available.
We pride ourselves on our beautiful landscapes and the serenity that accompanies it. It is indeed a tranquil place to come and relax and still be close to the city

Thank you for staying at the property on a personal capacity with your family to experience our individual hospitality and not only conferencing.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family as well as any other conference you book with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The hotel is still completing refurbishments and I am sure when done it will move up a notch. My room on this occasion was small but clean. Bathroom furnishings was fantastic. Cleaning staff are good. Negatives include water collecting in the shower and walls being paper thin. Hotel does however offer free WiFi

Room Tip: Get the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Good day sir,

thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback on your stay. Yes we are doing some refurbishment work on the property (which we are excited about) and your comments will definitely guide us as to where we need to focus our efforts. Any other feedback will be more than appreciated.

Thank you for complimenting our cleaning staff. I will ensure your feedback is relayed to them...

We look forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for 8 days for a chess conference. Lovely setting, very friendly, helpful staff that go the extra mile. if you want peace and quiet this is for you. But if you want to get around it is worth hiring a car or you will need to rely on hiring a driver to get to Jo'berg which is an hour and Pretoria about 45 mins.
This place is a bird watchers dream! But the pool is very small, gym equipment dated and whilst buffet food is decent, it lacked variety at times. They advertise burgers and sandwiches for lunch but when these were not available we were told only at the weekend. The when we asked again on the weekend another excuse was made. Guess they want you to keep eating/spending on the buffet and it's that or nothing! Laundry was closed on a weekend when I needed it. Shower room - you can't 'throw a cat' in the space provided, but rooms were clean and well kept.
Biggest let down. INTERNET CONNECTION WAS VERY POOR, especially for a conference.
Our group had relied on this aspect and it was a JOKE trying to connect, download or even email :(
Just make sure you go there with a car unless you want to have the feeling of being stranded! There is nothing around for miles. Overall : it's a nice place for those wishing to get away from EVERYTHING! Average value for the money and it is the friendly staff that make this place worth the visit and they make up for some of the shortfalls.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raz9364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav H, General Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
At Faircity Roodevallei we appreciate honest and constructive feedback. And this review is both! So thank you!
Yes, Roodevallei is indeed somewhat remote and a perfect hideaway from the city’s hustle and bustle. It is a country style hotel north of Pretoria on the Pienaars River close to the Roodeplaat Dam. Yet it is only 15 minutes away from one of Pretoria's largest shopping centres, The Kollonade, and 20 minutes away from Lynnwood Bridge, Menlyn and the Gautrain. You will indeed need a car to drive there or we will gladly organise a shuttle for you.
We are widely known for our scrumptious buffets but we are working on improving our menu offering for those who prefer something smaller, especially over weekends. I am confident that you will find something suitable on your return!
We apologise for the Wi-Fi. Due to our close proximity to the river (lowest level in the area) we have had problems with connectivity, especially during your stay. We believe this has now been resolved. Please try our Wi-Fi out next time.
We hope to have the gym equipment replaced within the next year or so and we are also planning some exciting training alternatives to the gym. Watch this space!
Our laundry service is open 6 days a week, so we apologise that it was not available on a Sunday.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we trust that you will enjoy your stay even more when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I've used this venue several times for meetings, workshops and training sessions over the years and it is by far the best place in Gauteng for this kind of event. When I last used it, it didn't have the word 'fair city' in front of it, so I'm a little unsure whether this is the same place as the Roodevallei Country Lodge, but if it is, it's fabulous. I have special dietary needs and this place catered excellently to my needs. I use many of these conference venues regularly and none of them compare well in any way to this place. There's a long, long list of really awful spots in Gauteng. No other place makes special dietary needs such a breeze. With other places there's usually lots of drama at every meal and when I get tired to talking to managers, chefs and the like, I give up and look for what's available that I can eat even if it's desert only. At this place I get the meals done just right by chefs who are delighted at the challenge, making the workshops and meetings a breeze. some of my colleagues and i joke that we should buy shares in this business as they as so very good. With being so good comes being booked out way in advance as they are very popular. So book early and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyZam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav H, General Manager at Faircity Roodevallei, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Faircity has recently taken over Roodevallei Country Lodge and we are delighted that you experienced the service and hospitality that Roodevallei is so well known for. All our staff make a concerted effort to ensure that every guest's need is catered for. Our conference, event and wedding coordinators will ensure that all your requirements are met with a smile! And our reservationists will make endeavour to make your stay with us a memorable one. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
11.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
0.4 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#13 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#22 of 72 in Pretoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
11.5 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
9.4 mi away
The Farm Inn
The Farm Inn
#18 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Roodevallei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Roodevallei

Property: Faircity Roodevallei
Address: Plot 81 Zeekoegat | Kameeldrift East, Pretoria 0039, South Africa (Formerly Roode Vallei Country Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Faircity Roodevallei 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faircity Roodevallei lies on the banks of the Pienaar's River, surrounded by a nature reserve and bird sanctuary. Set as it is, north of Pretoria and on the slopes of the Magalies Mountains, the climate and vegetation is that of the game-park bushveld to the North. A peaceful environment that is conducive to communication and decision-making enhances our lodge, which is staffed and equipped primarily for conferences. Faircity Roodevallei offers conference planners the convenience of a beautiful bushveld setting only forty-five minutes from Johannesburg City and OR Tambo International Airport. The professional input of our Conference Coordinators will ensure that your company can personalise your activities and experience, whilst promoting interaction, co-operation and enhancing team spirit. The privacy of our lodge, without intrusion from holidaymakers and day visitors, will ensure that events remain focused. Our conference centre offers a choice of air-conditioned conference venues, breakaway rooms, registration and function areas - all named after the birds that frequent the sanctuary. Faircity Roodevallei also offers a variety of team building events. 'Our Valley Restaurant' has grown from the original farmhouse, but has not lost its rustic charm and unique ambience. The restaurant kitchen is known for its generous country style buffets, creating exciting menus of traditional and international cuisine that vary daily. Fresh breads, pastries and desserts are baked and prepared on the premises every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faircity Roodevallei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing