We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretoria /SA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melvin Residence Guest House
Ranked #9 of 357 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
“Pretoria /SA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

lovely, quiet place in the heart of Pretoria with very warm welcome

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your review. I believe a comfortable bed after such a long journey with the 4X4 camper msut have felt very inviting. Do come back soon and spend more time in Pretoria. We have a lot to offer!

Regards

Piet & Elize van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    38
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
55
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed at Melvin Residence Guest house over a weekend in late April and overall, we were very pleased with our experience. We were welcomed immediately upon our arrival and shown to a lovely room with included bath. The room was nicely appointed and had an electric kettle with a selection of teas and coffee and a small refrigerator. We had recently returned from a two week safari and just wanted a place to unwind and see a few sights in Pretoria as we had never visited there in the past. The location was good for our purposes. We walked to the Union Buildings and through the surrounding gardens. It was also within walking distance of the Pretoria Art Museum which was a nice small museum perfect for spending an hour or so. The neighborhood felt safe and the guest house is just across from the German embassy. Our host, Piet, was engaging and helpful with suggestions for restaurants, sights and ATM locations. He also arranged our taxi to the airport on Monday morning which was prompt with a courteous driver. The breakfast area was warm and inviting with high tin ceilings and a wall decorated with old saucers and plates. The breakfast itself was very good with fruit, yogurt, breads, muesli and eggs made to order. We took Piet's recommendation for dinner at Cafe 41 and enjoyed it enough to return the following evening as well. The grounds were well kept and even though it was late in the season, the garden still retained some of its beauty. When we experienced a problem with our television box, Piet promptly came to help and then replaced it. The only very minor problem was a swarm of ants in one corner of the room (something we occasionally experience at home as well), but this was taken care of promptly. Overall I would warmly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeWgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for review of our facility. We enjoyed having you here and my grandson had a ball with the paper plane the captain made for him! We hope to see you again real soon.

Regards

Piet & Elize van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

After a long flight from Australia it was fantastic to arrive and feel at home. Very comfortable, clean, safe, good breakfast (pay a bit more and have a fantastic omelette), very good value, very friendly people. Very good restaurant close by (Cafe 41). Invited my daughters for breakfast and to see the place.

Easy access, made arriving in Sth Africa a pleasure rather than an uncertainty.

This will be my place for future visits. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to see you and the girls again!

Regards

Piet & Elize van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I highly recommend Melvin Residence, based on my experience and stay there. You couldn't wish for better hosts and the rooms are elegantly appointed. It felt like home from home to me. I was in town for a weekend workshop and especially loved my Sunday breakfast served under the gracious old trees of this beautiful home. Most of all, staying as a women on my own, I felt absolutely safe.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amawriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
It was a pleasure having you here. We hope ypu will visit us agin real soon!

Regards

Piet & Elize van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed there in march and the food was just terrible. Was even lazy to have breakfast. My company also paid for dinner which cost R70 extra per day but the food I was getting was like it cost R20. They leave the dinner in your room, so unattractive wrapped with a plastic. For almost 2 weeks I was served rice meet with horrible veges and when I asked for something different I got worse. I don't know, maybe they treat guests differently. But I got the worst service.

I wouldn't want to stay in melvin residence ever again. I am not even sure how it got its 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear travelaah
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our guest house. It is a pity that you did not bring these issues to our attention while you were here. We would have attended to it right away!

We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so that we can examine your issues you experienced further. Please reach out to us directly at piet@melvinresidence.co.za

Regards
Piet van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We, five of us needing 3 rooms, were looking for a place for one night, not too far from Jo'burg after the long flight and a convenient stop off before driving on to the Kruger Park. Based on ther reviews we booked the Melvin and it was ideal. Excellent location, lovely buildings and setting, very clean and comfortable rooms. Piet was there to greet us and provide the necessary local information, including recommended restaurants. After a long journey, a six pack of cold beers was desperately needed. Piet duly obliged and we enjoyed a very pleasant late afternoon drink on the veranda in the heat of South Africa. The holiday had started! Breakfast was first class, a brilaint start to the day before our onward journey. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred201021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Good afternoon Fred,
Thank you for the review.
It was a pleasure having you and your family here.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards

Piet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a lovely stay at Melvin. Great breakfast and comfortable bed. Piet was so helpful with local advice and recommendations. It was nice to walk to nearby cafe 41. Melrose House is well worth a visit as is the Union Building gardens.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy getting feedback from our local guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Regards

Piet & Elize van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
1.5 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
1.7 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
#15 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melvin Residence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melvin Residence Guest House

Property: Melvin Residence Guest House
Address: 184 Pine Street | Arcadia, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 357 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Melvin Residence Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melvin Residence is a 4 star Guest House that ideally located for doing business in Pretoria. We offer:- Four luxury double rooms with en suite showers- One standard room with an en suite bathroom One single rooms with an en suite bathrooms- Private entrances with comfortable relaxation areas - An awesome view over the capital city- All rooms are fully air-conditioned- Easy access to highways leading north and south - Secure, fenced parking- Non-intrusive, but welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melvin Residence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing