We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melvin Residence Guest House
Ranked #13 of 369 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2013

stayed there for one night. very friendly host Piet, beautiful tropical garden, awesome ancient main building. room was quite basic, but nice. Location is great, a few minutes to the union buildings by foot. Nice restaurants also quite close. Would come again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveladdicted4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed at the Melvin Residence for one night last month, returning to this beautifully restored and maintained colonial home after a weekend there a few years ago. And the high quality that impressed us the first time has been maintained. Piet, the friendly and extremely helpful owner has thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. No amenity has been overlooked. And Sunday breakfast on the sunny back verandah was a real treat - best omelettes and coffee we've had in a long time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazza127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review. It was nice having you back here again! We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Piet and his wife are wonderful hosts and we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast, especially the omelett, was to die for!! If you look for a quiet and wonderful place, this is the place to be. Unfortunately we only could stay for 1 night. Worth the price and really really nice people!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ursula I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast! We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay in Pretoria. Great breakfast with very nice food, fruit, eggs, etc. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The environment is safe. I definitely recommend it to other traveling to Pretoria.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 66erint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed having you and your colleagues here. We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We were once again received as friends and made to feel so welcome. The rooms were spotlessly clean, service very friendly and the help and guidelines we received invaluable. Melvin Residence is well situated for our purposes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The house is quite lovely, but the bedrooms are in a detached building separated by the most beautiful little garden, and breakfast (full, with eggs and bacon) is served on a terrace in that garden. The host Piet is helpful with every need. The location seems miles away from the city's bustle, is very quiet and restful. Rooms open out onto a veranda and there are comfy chairs where you can sit and relax, enjoy the sounds of the birds while you write postcards or fill in your travel diary. The rooms (I had room #1) are spacious, comfortable (great big comforter and lots of cushy pillows), everything was clean and immaculate, and really one could ask for nothing more. There is one very good restaurant nearby, within walking distance, while the Union buildings are just up the hill and very convenient. Good sized parking area inside the secured perimeter wall. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_from_Glendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My family stayed one week, according 1st booking, but they asked me tio extent the staying for 6 days more in the same guest house. Foriegners look for safe, clean, good dealing and facilities. Beside all of these, Melvine provides the guidness and actual help if need to whom not familier with the SA life. Thanks for Mr. Piet for all his suppoting to my small family. I recommend this guest house for whom need the nice location and good pricing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that your family enjoyed their stay with us. We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.5 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1 mi away
Amper Bo Guest House
Amper Bo Guest House
#217 of 369 in Pretoria
7 reviews
10 mi away
No photo provided
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 74 in Pretoria
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 74 in Pretoria
129 reviews
5.4 mi away
Constantia Guest Lodge
Constantia Guest Lodge
#37 of 115 in Pretoria
17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Premier Hotel Pretoria
#18 of 74 in Pretoria
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melvin Residence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melvin Residence Guest House

Address: 184 Pine Street | Arcadia, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: £49 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melvin Residence Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melvin Residence is a 4 star Guest House that ideally located for doing business in Pretoria. We offer:- Four luxury double rooms with en suite showers- One standard room with an en suite bathroom One single rooms with an en suite bathrooms- Private entrances with comfortable relaxation areas - An awesome view over the capital city- All rooms are fully air-conditioned- Easy access to highways leading north and south - Secure, fenced parking- Non-intrusive, but welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melvin Residence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing