We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven; and no other word describes it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melvin Residence Guest House
Ranked #9 of 358 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Haven; and no other word describes it!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I sjould first say that i am a very fussy guest!! However, having spent weeks trying out different hotels and guest houses I felt like I'd won the lottery when I found this place.

Rooms are immaculate. Internet, although paid, was the best I'd experienced in South Africa and was very cheap and incredibly fast!

The owners are wonderful and the only bad point I could think to say is that there is too much food for breakfast, especially since I'm not a breakfast person!

Already booked to stay here on my next stay and simply cannot recommend Melvin enough!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie_JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We don't think you are a fussy guest at all! We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. See you soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    41
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
57
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dornbirn
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

very beautiful house in a better area in Pretoria!
you get a lot of information and you will have a wonderful breakfast.
it was for us a perfect start in the holiday becaue we came in trough airport Johannesburg and were heading to Krüger Nationalpark. It was very good!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaratSafin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We ordered double room and received single with 2 pillows and two sets of toiletries.
The bed was very small (140X190), There was only one chair in the room, and one chair on the balcony. There was no space for Luggage at all. I had to put it in the bathroom. There was no bath tube. Between the bathroom, toilet and the room had no doors or partitions. When one of us went to the toilet, the other had to go out. Bedside table, too, was only one. Breakfast is very poor. Disgusting coffee - more like water.
I do not recommend anyone to stay here, despite the good location and safe area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear lanaid
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our guest house. It is a pity that you did not bring these issues to our attention while you were here. We would have attended to it right away!

We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so that we can examine your issues you experienced further. Please reach out to us directly at piet@melvinresidence.co.za

Regards
Piet van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great location and a very comfortable stay. On our first morning we had an early start to the Cheetah Park and were unable to make breakfast but Piet provided us with a delicious lunch of sandwiches and snacks. The only complaint is our bathroom did not have a shower, just a beth so you have to sit down to shower and we had problems with our T.V as it kept shutting off. As we were only there for two nights and hardly spent anytime in the room we only mentioned on departure, and we were assured it would have been fixed if we had asked :)
It was a very safe location and Piet always organised a taxi when we headed out for dinner.
Would definatly reccommend!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyeres, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Beautiful and quiet place in a very safe area. Beautiful historical house. Piet has been very helpful and has given us very good advises. Easy to find although name of streets in Pretoria have changed. The Union Building two streets away is still called the Union Building!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

After a long flight to South Africa Melvin Residence was the perfect place to relax. Very central and easy to find. A real oasis in the big city.
We could enjoy the wonderful breakfast on the terrasse while Piet provided us with many useful informations. Unfortunately, we only stayed for one night.
Melvin Residence would definitely be our choice again in Pretoria.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The position was excellent, the main reason that we chose Melvin Residence. The room ok. Piet was very helpful although slightly let down by charging us for a wrongly downloaded phone card top-up (his mistake) and inadequate wi-fi. Piet recommended a taxi service that was efficient - although 70/80k through the streets of Pretoria was slightly alarming.
BUT, we found a great taxi - its owner/driver, Albert, was so nice, helpful and reasonable that he just made our brief stay in Pretoria. His telephone number is 083 426 3230.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinandtuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#10 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
1.5 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
1.7 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
#15 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melvin Residence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melvin Residence Guest House

Property: Melvin Residence Guest House
Address: 184 Pine Street | Arcadia, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Melvin Residence Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melvin Residence is a 4 star Guest House that ideally located for doing business in Pretoria. We offer:- Four luxury double rooms with en suite showers- One standard room with an en suite bathroom One single rooms with an en suite bathrooms- Private entrances with comfortable relaxation areas - An awesome view over the capital city- All rooms are fully air-conditioned- Easy access to highways leading north and south - Secure, fenced parking- Non-intrusive, but welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melvin Residence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing