We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Safe, Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morning Star Express Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, Safe, Friendly”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I had to do an unexpected visit to Pretoria at the last moment.

Went on line to find a place to stay for two nights and came across Morning Star, when i phoned them they were very polite and friendly. I had one problem, it was about 16h00 when i phoned them, making my arrival in Pretoria in the very early hours of the morning.

I got to the hotel at about 2h30 in the morning and when i checked in i was charged for one night and an extra R 250.00 for early check in, thus i was there for two nights. This was not expected, not many, if any place would do that, i was even offered Breakfast that morning.

The room was clean and neat and somewhat comfortable, it was really very good.

To all the staff @ Morning Star, well done keep it up and i will return to your hotel when in Pretoria again. 1000 % !!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polly_in_kzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilLategan, General Manager at Morning Star Express Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Firstly I would like to thank you for your favorable review on your stay at the Morningstar Express Hotel. It is only when we receive feedback from our guests that we are able to improve our product offering and remain customer centric.

We look forward to your continued patronage.

Kind Regards

Philip Lategan
General Manager
Morning Star Express Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    239
    82
    23
    11
See reviews for
95
194
60
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel offers and excellent customer service.I and my family really enjoyed our stay in the morning star express hotel. The menu for breakfast and dinner was quite standard. The hotel staff are very committed and Cebisa is exceptional. Kudos to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hi I'm Ndalamo Tshishonga,I spent my night at your hotel last month,I realy liked your hotel,your room is very beautiful n everything that it has inside,I loved ur dinner n breakfast they were very delicious and your really treated me well n special,they were friendly and I realy love the view of your hotel and I would like to visit u again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndalamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I checked in on the 25 well the 2 receptionist were not helping much they were just playing with each other, they even forgot to activate my key card when I get in to my room I only found out that the card wasn't activated "bad service" I had to go down stairs for assistant that when the security guard helped,the other day the receptionist wasn't focus at all she apologised, the rooms are nice & cosy. The break fast was super nice I enjoyed 3days there I would mind to go back again or tell a friend about my experience, the cleanliness is 100%

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zillycious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel was OK. Loved the 22 inch LCD TV - it's actually not too small. The breakfast was quite tasty - I don't usually like hotel breakfasts. But it was cold!
Another very nice touch was that a room accommodates three people - not just two! There's a double bed on the floor and then a climb-up single bed on top.
If you require absolute peace and quite however, this hotel's not for you. A lot of guests were drunk and making noise occasionally - it was Saturday night.
I was however offended that they refused to honour my Honeyguide loyalty club discount.
The biggest lowlight is that they have used cheap finishings and this beautiful hotel will deteriorate quite rapidly into a dingy place. Use it now while it's still new.
Overall, I will definitely use them again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osigenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel 224
Hotel 224
#26 of 73 in Pretoria
103 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
11.5 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#22 of 73 in Pretoria
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Star Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Star Express Hotel

Property: Morning Star Express Hotel
Address: 327 Visagie Street, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Morning Star Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morning Star Express Hotel in Pretoria central offers comfortable, high quality and affordable accommodation for business guests, stop-overs and short stay travel. 125 Comfortable Rooms. Modest in size, cozy double beds. En-suite bathrooms with a shower, toilet and basin. Air conditioning, small flat screen TV, DSTV, coffee and tea station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Morning Star Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing