We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mont D'or Bohemian House
Ranked #4 of 365 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

To Alta, Johann and Christo, thank you for a delightful experience at Bohemian House!! Your hospitality knows no bounds! From the beautiful garden to the most beautiful napkin ring , everything carefully selected by Alta and her team. The food is delicious which makes the dining experience feel like a feast.

The rooms each have a different theme, stories of all their travels around the world - from the crisp linen to the fresh flowers, the experience where pure peace!

I would really recommend this beautiful "house" and team to all my friends and collegues as this experience was lasting - thank you so much

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for your review and thank you for sharing your experience!
Because Bohemian House is our passion and our life,we appreciate it so much more if guests are happy and if they can enjoy and appreciate our effort .
Hope to see back here in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Bohemian House twice – once on our wedding night and once for our anniversary four years later. The Bohemian House is utterly unique and chatting to Alta or Christo about the story behind some of the beautiful items they have on display is like taking a little overseas trip. The attention to detail and level of personal service that we received was incredible. What we love about it is that it’s a complete escape from the stressful pace of life, yet is right in the middle of the city. It’s a really special place for us and we recommend it without reservation if you are looking for somewhere to celebrate a special event.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Manager at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our guest house.
It is always such a pleasure to have you both here at Bohemian .
Hope to see you before your next anniversary .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have stayed there a few times and would definitely recommend it to anyone. Set in a very beautiful lush garden area with tall trees in Waterkloof Ridge, it is close to the activity of the city yet far enough to be very peaceful and quite at night.

Once you enter the house, one immediately get a warm peaceful feeling that follows you for your stay, as you marvel at the style and comfort of the interior design, down to the smallest detail all around.

With friendly homely service and excellent meals, it is definitely a place like no other.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TavelerPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review.
You are such a pleasant guest,you are always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We arrived after two very long flights at this wonderful guest house. Our welcome was very warm and we were shown to the most beautiful room decorated with fresh flower petals with access to a lovely outside courtyard garden. I immediately felt at peace. Nothing was too much trouble. We were served a delicious lunch and later had a cheese plate for the evening.As it was our first trip to South Africa, the owners, Alta and Johan, suggested a sightseeing trip around Pretoria and their son Chris gave us just that. We ate at a nearby restaurant that evening and were taken and collected by Johan.Everything was wonderful. I could not think of any one thing that would make this guest house better. We were given the perfect start to our holiday in South Africa and I would LOVE to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review,much appreciated by all of us.
Because we are all focused to give our guests a wonderful experience it is always good to know that they were content and happy at Bohemian.
We love what we do and we love to meet new guests and old friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Tired out after several long flights via different countries in recent times, I was delivered to this unexpected, but greatly appreciated oasis. I was immediately made to feel safe, welcome and truly at a home a long way from home. From the first welcome to the last goodby, the service was friendly, flexible, relaxed and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was great, the decor and the gardens most interesting, but the best bit was when I asked the Lady of the house how I get to the interesting little second floor library which I could see had no wall and no stairs and was told "in your dreams"....

Room Tip: My top floor room out the back was quiet with a great view over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for the lovely,positive review.
It was a pleasure to have you here.
This is our passion and our love,therefore it is easy to make guests feel at home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This is more a small boutique hotel rather than a B+B. Bedding, room, restaurant, service and the owners are the best! If you need a room in this area of Pretoria you will never stay anywhere else. Dinner was delicious. Everything was impeccable at the Bohemian.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0rldTraveler1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

It was great having you here!
Thank you for your friendly review.
it is easy to please positive and friendly people.
See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Been there a few weekend ago and have ZERO complaints. From the welcoming to the departing everything was perfect. Thanks again for a wonderful experience. The accommodation was the cherry on top of a wonderful Afrikaans Is Groot weekend experience. We will certainly recommend to our friend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vermeulen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Thank you for the kind words!
We appreciate your comments.
This is our passion and we want it to be a wonderful experience,and we will always try harder to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#15 of 74 in Pretoria
527 reviews
4.3 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 74 in Pretoria
127 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel 224
Hotel 224
#24 of 74 in Pretoria
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#12 of 74 in Pretoria
317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Pretoria
306 reviews
2 mi away
Opikopi Guest House
Opikopi Guest House
#1 of 365 in Pretoria
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont D'or Bohemian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont D'or Bohemian House

Address: 389 Eridanus Street | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 0181, South Africa (Formerly Bohemian House)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: £61 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont D'or Bohemian House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for accommodation in Pretoria,you have just found the perfect place.There are many guest houses and hotels around the world....and then there is Bohemian House Boutique Hotel. For all your accommodation needs,truly one of a kind! The moment you enter you are stunned by the architecture and detail, the art and the atmosphere. The tranquility is just as perfect for a tired international businessmen as for an excited couple on their honeymoon. All rooms have balconies or doors opening on to the garden. Free Wi Fi available,one day laundry service. Bohemian House,boutique hotel,is owned and managed by the Johan,Alta and Christo Minnaar and we love what we do.This is our passion! Secure,shaded parking.Superb service,scrumptious breakfasts, excellent dining in our romantic dining room with dishes influenced by Mediterranean, Moroccan and South African. Now we have opened the Bird Song Tea Garden where you can enjoy breakfast,light lunches and fresh from the oven cakes and quiches. Fully licensed with the best South African wines. Bordered by both the Norwegian and Austrian Embassy Residences our guests' safety is a priority and premises are protected. We believe life is too short to be just ordinary! Our guests always return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mont D'or Bohemian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing