We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Literally home away from home....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mont D'or Bohemian House
Ranked #4 of 356 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Literally home away from home....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The couple who run this place are so passionate about what they do, it makes you feel like you are visiting old friends, from the moment you arrive at the Bohemian, there is such a warm welcome and everyone is constantly inquiring after you. The rooms are tastefully furnished and all have different themes. They offer a great breakfast and if you decide to eat in, you can pre-order dinner and you'll enjoy a really sumptuous meal. They are so thoughtful and the fresh flowers, sweet little notes and other complimentary items make you miss home just a little less. I would strongly recommend Bohemian for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for writing a review!
We appreciate your effort and future guests also appreciate honest reviews.
I am glad that you enjoyed it here and that you feel at home.
As you well know,we love what we do, and we love people.
Until next time,all the very best .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
52
9
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very warm, homely feeling. Beautiful set up in a quiet peaceful environment ideal for relaxation, work and meditation. I have been here six times and since my first time I have never even considered an alternative accommodation. The rooms have a special touch, the breakfast is wholesome, the staff are friendly, the gardens are heavenly and the internet is reliable. If you happen to find yourself in Pretoria I would recommend The Bohemian

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review.
It is always a pleasure to see with your great smile and relaxed personality.
I often say that it is guest like you that make it worhwhile for us to work long hours and walk the extra mile.
Thank you!
Hope to see you again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

What can I say that has not already been said about this property, We spent two nights here after a long international flight and before going on Rovos Rail. so we wanted somewhere comfortable. Well we did not have to look far. The very warm welcome the beautiful room with wonderful décor and the very spacious bathroom. All very clean and well presented. The little touches of flower petals on the bed and in the bathroom really give you a feeling of well being. The breakfast were lovely and the service fantastic. Could not fault it. The trips to the shopping centre and pick up service was second to none and nothing was too much trouble. On our last night we decided to eat in and the meal was faultless. Could not recommend this highly enough. If you are looking for a wonderful B & B with excellent service in a quiet area this is the place to stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanashton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We enjoy what we do,this is our passion!
Even more so if our guests are kind ,happy and special people.
We all enjoyed having you here.Until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molleges, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our last night of a fantastic 2 week trip was left open, having booked The Oyster Box, Leopard Mountain Lodge, et al...slumming it?...uh, not!

So my wife said she wanted the last night "free" to allow us to get to OR Tambo when we wanted. Cool, I do what I'm told.

So the night before we booked this place online as it seemed to have a bit of something about it...
Well! We were blown away...Alta, Johan and their little boy Chris (who does a bit of cooking and is a huge fan of the Blue Bulls?) could not have been more charming, and their home is astoundingly lovely...packed with gorgeous goodies from their travels. The actual room was a weensy bit on the small side after what we'd become used to, but charming nonetheless. Actually it was fine...we'd just got used to enormous, cavernous spaces so thought that was what happened. The location of the property is just superb, nestled amongst what appeared to be the S.A. version of the Hollywood Hills, and there's a handy mall just down the road for your massages, meals and more...
We visited the Voortrekker Monument (excellent), the botanical gardens (even better...dassies too cute), and the Union Buildings (they wouldn't let us in...we did ask)...and it was all easy to get to from the house, and felt safe.

Defo recommend this place...oh, did I mention the awesome pool area...Ah, make it stop!
Just do it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
It was great reading your informative review.It was also a lot of fun to read your review.
Thank you for your kind words,we always enjoy having guests from all over the world.
We really appreciate it that you took time to review us.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for just two days on our last trip to Pretoria - enough to be very impressed. The rooms are beautiful and very tastefully designed, with an artistic flare. We've recommended this place to all our friends who travel to Pretoria on business.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Manager at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your time and effort to write a review.
We really appreciate it.
Thank you for also spreading the word about us.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful, peaceful guest house! The area is situated close to the hustle and bustle of the city but the gardens and surroundings are so tranquil, you would think you are in the countryside! The place was extremely clean and neat and the service was excellent! Breakfast was a feast and the attention to detail was brilliant! Thank you so much, I will find any excuse to come back soon!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizmo8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words and honest review.
We really appreciate the time and effort you took to write a review.
It is very important for future guests to read opinions of other guests.
Hospitality is our passion,and we strive to give our guests only the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, France
Level Contributor
208 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We received a warm welcome from Alta and everyone here, an oasis of peace and quiet on the edge of the city, certainly our preferred area to stay rather than down town. The rooms are very nicely furnished and set around pretty gardens, the wifi worked, and the sitting area djacent to the small pool was a nice retreat with drinks in the honesty bar. We ate one night in the in house restaurant, great attention to detail, good food and choice of wines, not maybe as cheap as outside but you are being very Personally catered for. Alta, her husband and the team were happy to organise tours , dropped us down the road to eat etc so couldn`t have done more to make our stay more enjoyable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TodgeProvence_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review.
As you well know it is important to get honest feedback.
It was a pleasure to have met you both and we hope we will be able to visit France in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
1.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.3 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
3.5 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castello di Monte
Castello di Monte
#1 of 356 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont D'or Bohemian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont D'or Bohemian House

Property: Mont D'or Bohemian House
Address: 389 Eridanus Street | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 0181, South Africa (Formerly Bohemian House)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 356 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont D'or Bohemian House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for accommodation in Pretoria,you have just found the perfect place.There are many guest houses and hotels around the world....and then there is Bohemian House Boutique Hotel. For all your accommodation needs,truly one of a kind! The moment you enter you are stunned by the architecture and detail, the art and the atmosphere. The tranquility is just as perfect for a tired international businessmen as for an excited couple on their honeymoon. All rooms have balconies or doors opening on to the garden. Free Wi Fi available,one day laundry service. Bohemian House,boutique hotel,is owned and managed by the Johan,Alta and Christo Minnaar and we love what we do.This is our passion! Secure,shaded parking.Superb service,scrumptious breakfasts, excellent dining in our romantic dining room with dishes influenced by Mediterranean, Moroccan and South African. Now we have opened the Bird Song Tea Garden where you can enjoy breakfast,light lunches and fresh from the oven cakes and quiches. Fully licensed with the best South African wines. Bordered by both the Norwegian and Austrian Embassy Residences our guests' safety is a priority and premises are protected. We believe life is too short to be just ordinary! Our guests always return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mont D'or Bohemian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing