We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Opikopi Guest House
Ranked #2 of 367 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Starting with the personal reception at the gate to ensure we could find our way round to the parking, to the farewell after breakfast, our overnight stay was delightful. The service was superb, our room was large and very well appointed, the breakfast beautifully presented in the comfortable and elegant dining room. The decor, both interior and exterior, is welcoming and the veranda next to the pool would be perfect for an afternoon coffee or sundowner. Adding to the charm was the friendly and well behaved beagle (or two?) who wandered about befriending the guests.
We were in Pretoria to visit family who live a short distance from Opikopi, so the location was perfect for us. We do hope that we'll have the opportunity to stay there again soon, and recommend Opikopi,which could be considered as much a boutique hotel as a guesthouse, most highly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you at the guest house. Hopefully we will see you again in the future

Regards

Helen de Beer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at opikopi for 3 days. Enjoyed my short stay thoroughly. It is one of the places you would feel at home. The staff were very friendly, and the rooms were nice and clean. If I ever visit south Africa/Pretoria,I now know where to make my stay memorable -OPIKOPI!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Samuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, General Manager at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi Samuel
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that we could make your trip to South Africa a memorable one.
We look forward to a future visit from you
kind regards
Opikopi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Opikopi 6-9 July during our recent holidays in South Africa. The guesthouse provided us excellent value for money, incl spacious room and good restaurant. All we miss is environmental measures such as water savings measures and waste separation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cornis_and_Marta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your time to review our guest house. It was realy a privalige to host you at

Thank you for bringing the water and wast under our attention however we in South Africa is not so clued up with technology like what you have in Switserland. We are still far behind your way of living in Europe. Defiantly something that we can work on.

Helen de Beer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Opikopi after arriving early at the airport im Johannesburg for just one night but next time would probably stay one more day. It is just a short drive (approx 30-45 minutes?) from OR Tambo Johannesburg Airport in a private residentail area with superb view. We had a family suite including whirlpool bathtub, floor heating and heating blankets and separate room for the kids. The food was good and very fairly priced (compared to European prices), the staff was very friendly and we felt very personal like staying with friends. Absolutly nothing to complain about and we would definitly recommend this guest house to everybody would stay there again.

Room Tip: We would definitly recommend the family suite with the whirlpool bathtub but don't know any of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Max_3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, General Manager at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi Stefan
Thank you for your kind words and great feedback.
We hope you will visit us again shortly as we enjoy treating our clients here again and again.
Also hope all your travels in south Africa went as fantastic as planned and that our country can expect you again.
Kind regards
Opikopi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Friendly service with very good facilities. Felt like I was at home :)
In secure location with secure access. You will need a car to get where you want to go.
Busy with renovations but it did not bother me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mstt659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for choosing our Guest House for your stay in South Africa.

We try not to inconvenience our guests with renovations, but we do need to upgrade the premisses on a regular basis to make sure that our Guest House is always on standard. We also try to work during the times that their is no guest on our premisses but it is not always possible. Thank you for understanding, and we are very glad that you have enjoyed the stay with us.

Helen de Beer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Quiet and tranquil. Very safe and comfortable. Good food at reasonable prices. Highly recommended!
Had a problem with the geyser in my room. Was sorted out by the time I got back that afternoon. Friendly personel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your time to review our Guest House. We strive to make sure that everything is in working condition but sometimes an element will brack without any warning. Luckily we do have an excellent team to fix problems like that in a jiffy.

Hope that we can spoil you again on your next visit to our Guest House.

Helen de Beer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The services and facilities of Opikopi were outstanding! I was very impressed with the staff, they were always polite and friendly while always making sure that the guests were beyond satisfied. It was very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you Jessica for your time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your party at Opikopi. Hope that your next trip will include Opikopi again ❤️

Helen de Beer
PS. The steak will be waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
6.4 mi away
The Farm Inn
The Farm Inn
#28 of 74 in Pretoria
178 reviews
2 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#2 of 74 in Pretoria
324 reviews
2 mi away
Mont D'or Bohemian House
Mont D'or Bohemian House
#4 of 367 in Pretoria
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Castello di Monte
Castello di Monte
#1 of 367 in Pretoria
276 reviews
5.6 mi away
Muckleneuk Manor
Muckleneuk Manor
#8 of 367 in Pretoria
61 reviews
1.9 mi away
Glen Marion Guest House
Glen Marion Guest House
#6 of 367 in Pretoria
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opikopi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opikopi Guest House

Address: 581 Verdi Street | Erasmuskloof, Constantia Park, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 367 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: £78 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Opikopi Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA Tourism Winner as BEST GUEST HOUSE IN SOUTH AFRICA WITH DINNERS IN 2012 AND 2014. Tshwane Tourism Award Winner 2010: Guest HouseOpikopi is situated centrally in a quiet Eastern Pretoria suburb called Erasmuskloof and is close to numerous attractions and offices: Botanical Gardens, Voortrekker Monument, Union Buildings, Menlyn shopping Mall, Sita Offices, Kloof Medic Clinic, Waterkloof and Wingate Park Golf Course, N1 freeway and only 20 min from OR Tambo Airport! This makes our Guest House ideal for the local and international visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Opikopi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing