We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Opikopi Guest House
Ranked #1 of 358 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Room 14. The entire stay was very pleasant with the exception of the shower. I found it very small as it is located within the bath with the nozzle head very low. Fortunately I am short and I could manage. Otherwise it was an excellent stay over. Thank You.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ma_girsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, Manager at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
HI Captain Girsa
It was our pleasure to accommodate you here at Opikopi, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for the comments as all feedback is welcomed to ensure we always improve our services. We look forward to your next visit here.
Kind regards
The Opikopi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    44
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
57
56
9
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Impressive facilities, layout and room hospitality. The Welcome complementary wine, the range of coffees to choose form, is very good. The style of finishes and furniture is impressive. Not easy to find because of location inside the estate, but also have safety spinoff

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Njabulo724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, Manager at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
HI Njabulo724

It was our greatest pleasure to accommodate you here at Opikopi
We enjoy treating our clients and are glad when we receive such positive comments from them.
We hope to host you again shortly when you can enjoy a cappuccino or two with us.

Kind regards
Opikopi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The staff was very friendly. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Under flooring heating also added comfort to the room. A very spacious bathroom. Overall, a very nice place to stay. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SagieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, General Manager at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
HI SagieM
Thank you for your great comments, and we are glad we could make you comfortable during your visit here. We enjoy treating our clients and hope to see you here again soon.
Kind regards
Opikopi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Starting with the personal reception at the gate to ensure we could find our way round to the parking, to the farewell after breakfast, our overnight stay was delightful. The service was superb, our room was large and very well appointed, the breakfast beautifully presented in the comfortable and elegant dining room. The decor, both interior and exterior, is welcoming and the veranda next to the pool would be perfect for an afternoon coffee or sundowner. Adding to the charm was the friendly and well behaved beagle (or two?) who wandered about befriending the guests.
We were in Pretoria to visit family who live a short distance from Opikopi, so the location was perfect for us. We do hope that we'll have the opportunity to stay there again soon, and recommend Opikopi,which could be considered as much a boutique hotel as a guesthouse, most highly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you at the guest house. Hopefully we will see you again in the future

Regards

Helen de Beer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at opikopi for 3 days. Enjoyed my short stay thoroughly. It is one of the places you would feel at home. The staff were very friendly, and the rooms were nice and clean. If I ever visit south Africa/Pretoria,I now know where to make my stay memorable -OPIKOPI!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Samuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, General Manager at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi Samuel
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that we could make your trip to South Africa a memorable one.
We look forward to a future visit from you
kind regards
Opikopi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Opikopi 6-9 July during our recent holidays in South Africa. The guesthouse provided us excellent value for money, incl spacious room and good restaurant. All we miss is environmental measures such as water savings measures and waste separation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cornis_and_Marta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your time to review our guest house. It was realy a privalige to host you at

Thank you for bringing the water and wast under our attention however we in South Africa is not so clued up with technology like what you have in Switserland. We are still far behind your way of living in Europe. Defiantly something that we can work on.

Helen de Beer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Opikopi after arriving early at the airport im Johannesburg for just one night but next time would probably stay one more day. It is just a short drive (approx 30-45 minutes?) from OR Tambo Johannesburg Airport in a private residentail area with superb view. We had a family suite including whirlpool bathtub, floor heating and heating blankets and separate room for the kids. The food was good and very fairly priced (compared to European prices), the staff was very friendly and we felt very personal like staying with friends. Absolutly nothing to complain about and we would definitly recommend this guest house to everybody would stay there again.

Room Tip: We would definitly recommend the family suite with the whirlpool bathtub but don't know any of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max_3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen d, General Manager at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Stefan
Thank you for your kind words and great feedback.
We hope you will visit us again shortly as we enjoy treating our clients here again and again.
Also hope all your travels in south Africa went as fantastic as planned and that our country can expect you again.
Kind regards
Opikopi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
11.8 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
6.3 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
5.9 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#10 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#22 of 72 in Pretoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
6.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opikopi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opikopi Guest House

Property: Opikopi Guest House
Address: 581 Verdi Street | Erasmuskloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Opikopi Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA Tourism Winner as BEST GUEST HOUSE IN SOUTH AFRICA WITH DINNERS IN 2012 AND 2014. Tshwane Tourism Award Winner 2010: Guest HouseOpikopi is situated centrally in a quiet Eastern Pretoria suburb called Erasmuskloof and is close to numerous attractions and offices: Botanical Gardens, Voortrekker Monument, Union Buildings, Menlyn shopping Mall, Sita Offices, Kloof Medic Clinic, Waterkloof and Wingate Park Golf Course, N1 freeway and only 20 min from OR Tambo Airport! This makes our Guest House ideal for the local and international visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Opikopi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing