We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place, lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brooklyn Guesthouses
Ranked #222 of 364 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here for one evening. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room, which was in effect a little house of its own, was nicely decorated, well warmed by a space heater, and very well-equipped (adapter plug, iron, etc) The surrounding neighbourhood is beautiful, and the place itself has lovely internal gardens. (Do be careful on the brick paving, though, as it can be uneven)

The breakfast buffet offered a lovely fresh fruit salad, sausages and fish cakes (fairly standard supermarket products, at a guess), eggs, lovely tomato halves with cheese, cereals, rooibos or coffee, etc.

Wifi worked well for me. I was using it for longish periods of time for work. Occasionally it cut out, but not for long.

Value for money was excellent: the room was R550, which for these standards was exceptionally good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

I was planning on giving the place a rating of one, simply because that is how disappointed I was with Brooklyn Guesthouses. But then I have to give one extra just for the lovely garden, good location (nice part of town, quiet, near Brooklyn Mall), vey tasty food and friendly service from the service staff.

Other than that, the experience was disconcerting and disheartening for a new arrival to the beautiful country of South Africa. The room was absolutely filthy with stained and sandy carpet, ants marching across the sofa, dirty kitchen, bugs in the linen and the list goes on. I was offered a new room, but after waiting for it for 5 days, I decided to relocate to another guesthouse.

General management took next to no responsibility for the services they provided and everything was unprofessionally handled. The service staff did however do their very best in tricky circumstances. It was definitely a learning experience, and I also can now say with confidence, that Brooklyn Guesthouses does not represent the overall service quality you can expect in South Africa.

But if you are looking for a simple place to stay for a short period of time, want good food and basic greeting with a smile, this might just be your place. If you need a bit of extra service and want a clean room, there are many possibilities that offer the that with a better price.

Room Tip: Room 35 was a crude, dirty cabin in the back of the area. Good for privacy and quiet, bad for overal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Satu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed here while traveling for a conference at the University of Pretoria. I didn't have a car, so it was conveniently within walking distance (about 15 minutes) of the university. You can also walk to the mall, about 15 minutes in the other direction. It is a very pretty place. The breakfast was really nice, I thought, especially the unlimited fresh juice. The bathrooms are interesting, not in their own room, but set apart from the bedroom by a half wall. The room I stayed in was small, but adequate. The biggest complaints for me were (1) the lack of heat and (2) poor wifi connection. It was winter, so quite cold at night. For heat, there was only some kind of plate on the wall that emitted a soft heat. For the whole room! It was so cold! Also, wifi connection was spotty and slow at best, absent at worst. They didn't require a password, which I think might have been their downfall, as I bet all their neighbors were using their network, leaving little or nothing for their guests. The staff were really nice, though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwedzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I have never stayed in South African Guesthouses but the Brooklyn Guesthouse is a treat.
Some 30 rooms divided over a green area equal to a soccerfield, with a tiny pool (more a size for frogs than people).
Very traditional furniture and decoration (reminds me of the Netherlands in the fifties) but definitely with a certain atmosphere.
Quiet tea-garden tucked away in a corner of the compound.
There are also a few "conference rooms", but not up to standard.
Rooms are standard size and so are the facilities. Not brand new (not at all ....) but still functional and satisfactorily.
Breakfast buffet is okay, mainly British (eggs, eggs and eggs plus the standard additions) but with great yoghurts as dessert. You can also have lunch and (before 4 pm.) order dinner.
Price around 500 Rand (ca. 50 Euro) for a single room, incl. breakfast.
I stayed in room 26 which is the only room in a separate house close to the tea garden. Very quiet.
Location : quiet neighbourhood, safe even at night. Ca. 15 minutes walk to Brooklyn Mall, the nearest thing like a shopping mall with many nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelNieuwegein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Lovely rooms and very friendly staff. Nice gardens to relax in. Altogether I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
#17 of 73 in Pretoria
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
#21 of 73 in Pretoria
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
0.0 mi away
Murray Street 137 Guest House
Murray Street 137 Guest House
#54 of 364 in Pretoria
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
About Guest Lodge
About Guest Lodge
#85 of 364 in Pretoria
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklyn Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklyn Guesthouses

Address: 128 Murray Street | Brooklyn, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: £32 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brooklyn Guesthouses 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklyn Guesthouses is situated in the tranquil suburb of Brooklyn – one of Pretoria’s most exclusive residential areas.Brooklyn Guesthouses is ideally situated for business, academic, training, sport and leisure itineraries in the greater Pretoria area. It’s a mere 5 minutes drive away from the central business district (CBD) of Pretoria – the capital city of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Brooklyn Guesthouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing