We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service and infrastructure”
Review of Castello di Monte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Monte
Ranked #1 of 368 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Everything is Excellent, and it will be much better if the carpet in president suite room change with the new one.
Parking lot probably having a little problem, however it is manageable so far.
Breakfast nice but it will be nicer if the menu a bit more varies.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Erwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

Castello Di Monte provided us with a lovely small intimate wedding, proving quality is far better than quantity. The food was great and beautifly presented & the staff always had a smile once again thank you Castello

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jared K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Having traveled the world for business and pleasure—bringing me multiple times to Europe, Asia, Africa and back home to America over the past year alone—I can honestly say that this boutique hotel is a real gem. Nestled in a lovely neighborhood in Pretoria, this Italianesque villa is home to pure serenity. Marleen, the general manager, and Ferdi at reception were my two favorite members of the staff (although all were helpful). Ferdi and Marleen instantly – and continually – made me feel warmly welcome and at home. The guesthouse itself provides one wonder after another, while the view from atop is divine. Breakfast was always freshly made and therefore scrumptious – from my never-too-sweet-and-hence-perfect hot cocoa to my eggs of all kinds made to order. The rooms featured high ceilings, graceful artwork and rainforest showers in the bathrooms. I do agree with other raters that the room lighting is awfully dim and could use, at the very least, a shaving mirror by the vanity. But otherwise, every need was attended to at Castello - thank goodness my Embassy placed me there. Paradise Lost? No, it’s been found…

Room Tip: Room tip: For enhanced privacy, security and quiet, I would recommend a room on the 1st floor (I was...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Built 11 years ago by somebody who had Randolph Hearst ambitions! Italianate and grand with lovely furnishings and mirrors throughout. Not quite my taste but a great sense of luxury for one night. We were upgraded to the Presidential Suite on arrival - a very nice touch - you could fit much of our house in it. His and hers bathrooms and a spacious walk in dressing room. The view from the lovely bedroom of the sun setting over Pretoria was lovely as was that of the garden.

The large bed was comfortable - all in all a pity we only had one night and needed to leave early in the morning!

Room Tip: If you fell cheeky or flash ask for the presidential suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Castello di Monte is amazing in every regard - from the excellent service to the cleanliness and not to mention the delicious meals. I highly recommend this beautiful guesthouse! I will be sure to stay there on every trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at Casstello for our aniversary and since our stay there I've been telling all my friends to go there as well, even if it is just for a weekend. It was so special and every need was catered for. Thank you so much Castello! We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CharleneS846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

If you are looking for a open rooftop with an incredible view of PTA, Castello di Monte is your place. My advice would be to check what time the sun sets on your date, and go 20 minutes before to catch it! That way you get both the day and night view of scenery.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Simonvandyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pretoria
3.1 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#12 of 74 in Pretoria
323 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#16 of 74 in Pretoria
529 reviews
23.4 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Pretoria
325 reviews
9.7 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#2 of 74 in Pretoria
439 reviews
2.2 mi away
Opikopi Guest House
Opikopi Guest House
#2 of 368 in Pretoria
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monte

Address: 402 Aries Street | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 368 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: £159 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Monte 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Monte Is a Five Star Guest House, situated in Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria. The Tuscan style estate portrays pure luxury and elegance and offers spectacular views of the hills in and around the capital city. The landscaped gardens with mature olive trees and lavender bushes give an Italian flavour to the African landscape.You will hardly notice that you are in the middle of a bustling city. At Castello di Monte it is easy to believe that you had found paradise Introduction If luxury is in the detail, then a stay at Castello di Monte is filled with pure indulgence whether you are walking the dramatic stairways made of the finest granite or feasting on the elegant art that adorns our walls you will be pressed to find a more extravagant surroundings. Be it for a corporate meeting or a romantic getaway on our Panoramic deck, Castello di Monte offers the perfect setting. When it is time to retire, you will be spoiled for choice. Will it be our presidential suite complete with a grand fire place and a four post bed or our honeymoon suite decorated with hand painted murals or our freshly made classic rooms fit for royalty, a sumptuous night is ensured. Castello di Monte's sixteenth century splendour is complimented by every modern amenity. Fully stocked minibars and DSTV right down to underfloor heating, air-conditioning and the creature comforts of tea, coffee and local papers, at Castello di Monte your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Castello di Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing