We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“remarkable but very oke”
Review of Castello di Monte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello di Monte
Ranked #2 of 363 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a very good and small hotel. The rooms are magnificent, very large and spacious. We had a bathroom the size of a superior room.... We actually had two rooms, because we travelled with our kids (ages 8 and 5). The hotel has very nice views on Pretoria, because it is situated on a hill overlooking the city and surroundings. The food is great as well. service wise they are probably really doing their best, but at times is was a bit strange: for instance, when i didn't tip in cash after dinner (i paid on the room and i added a tip to be settled at checkout), i was picked off the stairs and was subjected to some kind of strange admnistrative process in the managers office, which to this day i still don't really uderstand. Also during dinner we had a waiter who couldn't stop sighing every time we asked a question. Okay, maybe it was us, but still... All in all however the hotel is great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good day Marc V

Thank you for your review of your visit to Castello Di Monte.

We gratefully accept all comments given on all aspects of Castello. We sincerely apologize for any unsatisfactory or uncomfortable experiences and are doing our best to rectify the issues.

We hope to be given the chance to impress you if you happen to visit South Africa again.

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Castello di Monte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was just an overnight stay before catching the train in early morning.
Everything happened smoothly. They arranged all the transport for me from airport and to railway station. The room was large and we were offered drinks on arrival.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good day Peter

Thank you for your review, we hope your next visit will be for longer.

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We hired the entire venue for our wedding! Worth every cent! Food was amazing, rooms, service, cosy atmosphere, fire place burning (got married in winter 2 years ago)! Just a perfect place for a perfect day ! Got compliments of the best wedding ever! Thank you Castello!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HannelieWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good day Hannelie

Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent exclusive use wedding.

I'm sure we will see you for your anniversary next year, if not sooner..

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a fantastic time at Castello di Monte!
The beautiful guesthouse with breathtaking views of Pretoria, great food in the private sitting room with a cosy fireplace and superb service made it really a special and memorable stay to celebrate my husband's birthday.
Thank you for making it so special! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LindaDeLange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good day LindaDeLange

Thank you for your review of your and your husband's recent visit.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A small boutique accommodation in the better part of Pretoria. Rooms are very very spacious and well appointed.

The greeting and welcome was well done and personal. The meals were great, all prepared after order, but served in a timely manner. We had dinner and two breakfasts, all very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Good day CocoTampa

Thank you for your recent visit and wonderfull review of Castello Di Monte.

It's always a pleasure to welcome our guests who appreciate our efforts.

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We flew in from the UK and went straight to Castello. We loved this guest house. The room was superb. Large, clean, tidy and with an enormous bed. Our only regret was that we only had one night there. I would wholeheartidly recommend Castello and will stay there for longer next time.
Anything wrong with it ? The Wi-fi was very weak, but worked if you sat on the toilet !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Good day David

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Castello Di Monte and pointing out the issue with the wi-fi, we will be looking into it.

We hope to see you again in the future, this time for a longer stay.

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As I frequently travel and stay over at a number of hotels, I can confidently say that the luxury and extravagance one might expect from a boutique hotel, have been more than met. Thank you to OJ and his highly skilled and welcoming team for a fantastic weekend, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Good day George

Thank you for your review.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Castello.

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 73 in Pretoria
272 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#12 of 73 in Pretoria
513 reviews
3.1 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#10 of 73 in Pretoria
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
11.0 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 73 in Pretoria
166 reviews
9.7 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#5 of 73 in Pretoria
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monte

Address: 402 Aries Street | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 363 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: £114 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Monte 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Monte Is a Five Star Guest House, situated in Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria. The Tuscan style estate portrays pure luxury and elegance and offers spectacular views of the hills in and around the capital city. The landscaped gardens with mature olive trees and lavender bushes give an Italian flavour to the African landscape.You will hardly notice that you are in the middle of a bustling city. At Castello di Monte it is easy to believe that you had found paradise Introduction If luxury is in the detail, then a stay at Castello di Monte is filled with pure indulgence whether you are walking the dramatic stairways made of the finest granite or feasting on the elegant art that adorns our walls you will be pressed to find a more extravagant surroundings. Be it for a corporate meeting or a romantic getaway on our Panoramic deck, Castello di Monte offers the perfect setting. When it is time to retire, you will be spoiled for choice. Will it be our presidential suite complete with a grand fire place and a four post bed or our honeymoon suite decorated with hand painted murals or our freshly made classic rooms fit for royalty, a sumptuous night is ensured. Castello di Monte's sixteenth century splendour is complimented by every modern amenity. Fully stocked minibars and DSTV right down to underfloor heating, air-conditioning and the creature comforts of tea, coffee and local papers, at Castello di Monte your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castello di Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing