We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Castello di Monte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello di Monte
Ranked #1 of 364 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

From the first day we only received excelleny service
The food the room the staff the venue very friemdly and
Proffesional the best ever. The room was need and warm. I will come back to experince this service again. I would also reffer this venue to my friends
This property is beutifull and classic and with so much caractor any wedding
will be a sucess.
Thank you Castello di Monte and staff you help me to make my daughter and son in laes dream come true. This was a perfect chioce and day. Thank you.




  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Good day Yvonne A

Thank you for your wonderfull review of your daughter's wedding, we at Castello wish them both all the best for the future.

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

had the most relaxing time. excellent service and good food. stunning rooms to stay in.
reception was brilliant and welcoming.
I would recommend this place to everyone.
only advice i would give is to ensure your meat is properly aged before preparation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Good day Jan D

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Castello Di Monte, your feedback is much appreciated.

Our chef will resolve the meat issue with his suppliers.

We all hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Pretoria.

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I'm thankful for the recommendation I received for the Castello as the accommodations proved to be better than expected. Yes, the guest house and it's grounds are very nice, but ultimately what sets this place apart from many other accommodations is the level of service provided by Madeline and her staff. I was only there for a relatively short time while on a business trip, but I somehow felt like I was leaving family when I departed. The breakfast and dinners were terrific and they were always willing to help with anything that you may need such as transportation, local attraction info, etc. For a very reasonable nightly rate you really cannot beat the Castello. They do a terrific job.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs accommodation if available as the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good day Eric H

Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent visit to Castello.

We will keep up our service levels, and hope to see you shortly on your next visit to Pretoria.

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great views & great service! We stayed in the presidential suite for one night and it was absolutely amazing. The fireplace was cosy, attention to detail and friendly staff made us feel special and it felt lieke

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Renika1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good day Renika

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Castello.

We always strive to make any visit as good as possible.

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I give this small hotel (9 bed rooms) a 5 star rating. However it should not be compared to the 5 star rating I gave to The Peninsula in Hong Kong. They are totally different of course. Nevertheless this is a fantastic property. It is charming, has a great staff, great food and a wonderful location. If you are passing through Pretoria for a night or two you will not be disappointed with this little gem. You will love it!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the Presidential suite. Its amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbusiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good day Mr. & Mrs. Busiek

Thank you for your great review. We hope we can accommodate you on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a very good and small hotel. The rooms are magnificent, very large and spacious. We had a bathroom the size of a superior room.... We actually had two rooms, because we travelled with our kids (ages 8 and 5). The hotel has very nice views on Pretoria, because it is situated on a hill overlooking the city and surroundings. The food is great as well. service wise they are probably really doing their best, but at times is was a bit strange: for instance, when i didn't tip in cash after dinner (i paid on the room and i added a tip to be settled at checkout), i was picked off the stairs and was subjected to some kind of strange admnistrative process in the managers office, which to this day i still don't really uderstand. Also during dinner we had a waiter who couldn't stop sighing every time we asked a question. Okay, maybe it was us, but still... All in all however the hotel is great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good day Marc V

Thank you for your review of your visit to Castello Di Monte.

We gratefully accept all comments given on all aspects of Castello. We sincerely apologize for any unsatisfactory or uncomfortable experiences and are doing our best to rectify the issues.

We hope to be given the chance to impress you if you happen to visit South Africa again.

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was just an overnight stay before catching the train in early morning.
Everything happened smoothly. They arranged all the transport for me from airport and to railway station. The room was large and we were offered drinks on arrival.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Good day Peter

Thank you for your review, we hope your next visit will be for longer.

Kind Regards
Ferdi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#14 of 74 in Pretoria
519 reviews
3.1 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#10 of 74 in Pretoria
317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Pretoria
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
10.9 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#19 of 74 in Pretoria
144 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monte

Address: 402 Aries Street | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: £107 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Monte 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Monte Is a Five Star Guest House, situated in Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria. The Tuscan style estate portrays pure luxury and elegance and offers spectacular views of the hills in and around the capital city. The landscaped gardens with mature olive trees and lavender bushes give an Italian flavour to the African landscape.You will hardly notice that you are in the middle of a bustling city. At Castello di Monte it is easy to believe that you had found paradise Introduction If luxury is in the detail, then a stay at Castello di Monte is filled with pure indulgence whether you are walking the dramatic stairways made of the finest granite or feasting on the elegant art that adorns our walls you will be pressed to find a more extravagant surroundings. Be it for a corporate meeting or a romantic getaway on our Panoramic deck, Castello di Monte offers the perfect setting. When it is time to retire, you will be spoiled for choice. Will it be our presidential suite complete with a grand fire place and a four post bed or our honeymoon suite decorated with hand painted murals or our freshly made classic rooms fit for royalty, a sumptuous night is ensured. Castello di Monte's sixteenth century splendour is complimented by every modern amenity. Fully stocked minibars and DSTV right down to underfloor heating, air-conditioning and the creature comforts of tea, coffee and local papers, at Castello di Monte your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Castello di Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing