We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't go anywhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterkloof Guesthouse
Ranked #64 of 360 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Louis Trichardt, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Won't go anywhere else!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The friendly staff and great service has always made Waterkloof Guesthouse our first (and probably only) choice! After my third visit, the staff knew me and my family by name (that's really special)! When my first born was still a baby they organized a cot for him to sleep in and now when we get there with the newborn, they already put the cot in the room! Although they might not really have kids activities, that's not really a problem, because you're in Pretoria (lots of places you can take your kids to)!
The rooms are very spacious but also cozy (really feels like we're at home). I recommended Waterkloof Guesthouse to many of my friends and not one (yes, not one) was disappointed after their stay! Don't let me get started on the breakfast!! Apart from the delicious items on the menu, there are always fresh fruits, muesli, yoghurt, cereals and of course my favorite, the croissants! Filter coffee always, night or day, available. Great service at a very affordable price!
Deserves more than a five star (dot) rating!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Henk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
8
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mossel Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Very friendly and welcoming staff members. Rooms were spacious with luxurious bathrooms and good quality linnen. Very nice full English breakfast was serve to my requirements. I had a sneek preview at the food that was served to conference attendants and am definately recommending it to my company. Had a wonderfull experience, thank you very much !!
Petrisna

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petrisna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis Trichardt, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The Esterhuizen family over the years has been staying at Waterkloof Guesthouse more than we could properly remember. Always a wonderful heartwarming experience in such tranquil and hospitalble surroundings.What makes Waterkloof very special is the people who has the rare ability to make guests feel like real friends or family.Booking is adviseable as this popular home away from home has become the preferred destination of quite a large contingent of regulars and return guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyalami
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Today is our second conference day at Waterkloof guesthouse and the delegates and organizer have not stopped talking about the problems and inconvenience.
Overseas guests that were booked into VIP rooms were booked into standard rooms even though booking was done months in advance.
Insufficient food was provided at lunchtime and in the morning there were 36 scones for 45 people.No notebooks, pens or peppermints in the conference room as was promised.Staff tell us that they haven't arrived.The conference room in cramped and the noisy air conditioning makes it hard for the people at the back to hear.

There is no bin in the ladies toilets for the paper towel that is provided to dry hands and the toilet doors jam so two ladies have been trapped inside the cubicles.

We are facilitators and spend a lot of time at conference venues and have never seen such a lack of response to feedback as well as a lack of effort to please their customers.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Wayne and Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This guesthouse has been graded 5 stars. Beware, it is barely worthy of half that. Unprofessional reception desk staff, errors with the date of my booking and the wake-up call that was never made were the least of my worries. The major problem was the depressing Room 29 that housed furniture best destined for the scrap heap. The outdated and shabby interior was augmented by an awful bathroom with a severely stained washbasin cabinet and propped up small vanity mirror on a window-ledge. Over the bath was a painting of a nude woman as explicit as a page three photograph! The outdated bedroom closet and vanity was so damaged, it should be removed. In fact, the entire room needed an overhaul. Pity that the modern TV set failed to deliver decent reception for most of the evening. Watch out for a shuttle service where the charge is only explained once you are in the car and driving! Nothing was said at reception about the charges for this service. This is a surprising guest house. Its publicity looks great but its pretty poor all round. If you wish to be depressed in Pretoria, then go for it. But be warned.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank polanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.9 mi away
AM Milner
AM Milner
#29 of 73 in Pretoria
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Firwood Lodge
Firwood Lodge
#11 of 103 in Pretoria
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Purple Trumpet Guesthouse
Purple Trumpet Guesthouse
#58 of 360 in Pretoria
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Capital House Boutique Hotel
Capital House Boutique Hotel
#32 of 360 in Pretoria
62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Ridge Guest House
Royal Ridge Guest House
#34 of 360 in Pretoria
28 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cricklewood Manor
Cricklewood Manor
#194 of 360 in Pretoria
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterkloof Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterkloof Guesthouse

Property: Waterkloof Guesthouse
Address: 445 Albert Street | Pretoria, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 360 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterkloof Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star 29 En-suite rooms including Presidential Suite with private garden. Uncapped and unshaped Internet access. High security, shuttle service, laundry, restaurant, spa-baths, swimming pool, spacious solid kiaat bar with braai area, safe parking, 24 hour service, 60 seater hi tech conference, wedding and function facility, 10 seater boardroom, close to Menlyn and Brooklyn shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterkloof Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing