We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretoria old East - guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pretoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambiance Guest House
Ranked #4 of 365 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent a week, partly for business and partly leisure. The rooms are private and well equipped with a French theme. Parking was safe and under cover. Convenient for local shopping malls, embassies and access to main arterial routes. The breakfast is a special highlight - really excellent - weekdays only. One experiences the personal touch of the owner and the quality is superior to similar establishments we have used.

Room Tip: The family rooms are very spacious and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

I can fully recommend Ambiance Guest House. Deidre is extremely accommodating and her lovely touches and unexpected extras in the rooms are very much appreciated. The rooms are of a high standard, well serviced each day and extremely comfortable. Deidre's breakfasts in the main house are also recommended and great value. I would not want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms are super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisagyneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Ambiance GH is an absolute gem and it is my home away from home. I frequently stay there on business trips. I love the feel of the place, the comfort, the charming owners and the self catering option. I am almost loathe to write this review as recently I have not been able to stay here due to Deidre being fully booked. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KirstWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have being staying at Ambiance Guest House now for more than 6 years while on business in Pretoria. That in itself is already a very good recommendation for any new visitors. The tranquil setting, excellent service and very high standard of the facilities just make it impossible to look for another quest house. Andre Roux, Kuilsrivier, South Africa

Room Tip: All rooms are ideally placed and have the same excellent quality facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have been staying at Ambiance regularly since January 2011, and I always choose to stay there over any other establishment in Pretoria. Deidre is the most charming and friendly host, along with her husband, Pieter, they go that extra mile to make sure they can accommodate your requirements .... The 4 rooms are all beautifully furnished and comfortable, each with their own design. Rooms 1 and 2 are family rooms and have a lovely, small but fully equipped kitchen and a sofa bed for children (my girls are twins of 16 and they happily sleep on there together). The other two rooms have smaller self catering facilities with microwave and crockery and cutlery, perfect for overnight/2 night stays and microwave meals ... however if it is 100% self catering you require then rooms 1& 2 are the better options for you. The downsides of this establishment (and there aren't many) ... parking inside is tricky if you have a large 4x4, however we have parked outside on numerous occasions with no problems. The DSTV selection is limited .... only SABC (South African news channel or CNN) no SKY News or BBC. There is no credit card facility payment is by cash or bank transfer only which is frustrating. That said, you will always be warmly welcomed and I am sure will find yourself wanting to return again and again (we do !)

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children then rooms 1&2 are family rooms. Rooms 3&4 are double r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Morph070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have stayed in several excellent guesthouses in Hatfield and Lynwood (nr Pretoria), and Ambiance was the most expensive. However, the difference in price reflects the impeccable facilities, with every detail attended to - from a fabulous garden, to luxurious bed/living-room (with decent coffee and luxurious complimentary treats) and a wallow-for-hours bathroom. Boutique guest house is an understatement. Keep up the good work Deidre.

Room Tip: My room had garden access some rooms seemed to have their own little patio with chair/table
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicbidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I came to find myself at Ambiance due to another guesthouse being fully booked, and I am very glad that it was. The service was impeccable, with all of the genuine courtesy of people who truly care about their guests' experience. I felt completely safe, comfortable, and well fed at Ambiance! If I come back to Pretoria I will certainly check in with Ambiance as my first port of call. Thanks Deidre!

P.S. you can't beat the breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.5 mi away
Castello di Monte
Castello di Monte
#2 of 365 in Pretoria
271 reviews
3.6 mi away
Opikopi Guest House
Opikopi Guest House
#1 of 365 in Pretoria
289 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mont D'or Bohemian House
Mont D'or Bohemian House
#3 of 365 in Pretoria
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
9.6 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 74 in Pretoria
145 reviews
3.6 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 74 in Pretoria
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambiance Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambiance Guest House

Address: 28 3rd Street, Pretoria 0081, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambiance Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French country comfort in the heart of Pretoria! Walking distance to shopping centre, restaurants, pubs, Hatfield student mecca, bus & taxi routes, university. Just round the corner from all major routes, accessible to embassies, Pretoria Country Club. 5-10 mins by car to Brooklyn & Menlyn Park shopping malls. Central, cosy & peaceful. Automated garage entrance with parking by your room. All rooms with private entrances and patios. Decor-with-a-difference! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing