We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasantly surprised!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Well situated in trendy Lynwood area in Pretoria. Parking is available on sight. Access to a shopping area and many restaurants is a quick walk across the car park. The rooms are comfortable, well furnished, clean and open onto a small balcony. The breakfast was very reasonably priced, with a good variety of items, whether you selected continental or hot. The hotel staff were friendly and went out of their way to please. Evening meals can be ordered from restaurants close bye. The meal ordered from Rhapsody’s was delicious and promptly delivered!!!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the shopping and restaurant area across the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudlyDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    122
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
13
4
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have been staying at this hotel regularly for the past 2 years, and in line with their in house award system I rate it as by far the best City Lodge in South Africa.

At this stage I am delighted to report that the service is always excellent. The management and staff take a lot of extra effort to make all the guests feel welcome. All staff are friendly and greet guests at every opportunity. Check ins and outs are friendly and very efficient

The hotel's corporate "I am kind" campaign has resulted in numerous gestures aimed at making guests feel at home. As an example, they have purchased a pillow to match wy wife's preference, and it is always there when needed.

The coffee shop menu is quite limited, but the wonderful staff more than make up for this. You are also welcome to order in from one of the neighbouring restaurants and take your meal in the coffee shop or in your room.

Brreakfasts are generous and good value for money. Management presence on the floor during breakfast ensures a warm welcome and efficient service.

The rooms are all well equipped, freshly serviced and maintained. Wifi access is excellent, and the hotspot enables connection to MWeb.

Whilst I am wary of hype and slogans, City Lodge Lynnwood has really become a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and its staff. We are glad that you find our hotel and its staff so special. It means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Have stayed at City Lodge 5 times since April whilst on business. The team have been fantastic and looked us well. Many thanks to Danelle, Chantal and Alice for your hospitality. Hopefully I will get to visit again soon.

Located in popular Lynnwood Bridge area, it's a perfect location with a wide choice of restaurants - Koi, Stefanies, TriBeCa and more!

Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam19H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

good day i was booked at city lodge in pretoria at lynwood on the 28.09.2012 on a business trip the treatment was good and service was best andthe decor is neat and very stylish the staff is clean and well mannered.

Room Tip: corner suits are larger and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsakane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Well located, near great restaurants (and by that I mean across the road) with easy access from motorway. Quiet, good sized rooms that are modern and well appointed. Opening window (a nice change) allows you to choose fresh air or the air conditioner. Secure parking on site. Good value, however staff could be more pleasant.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a larger bathroom with a bath and a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanevanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

City Lodge is in a good location with easy access to a little shopping centre and good restaurants in the same complex. The staff was friendly, the room comfortable and clean and the breakfast selection is good. We would choose to stay at City Lodge again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BL_Cx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on business and loved everything about it until I ate Sunday night supper in the in-house cafe.

The decor is neat and modern and the colours soothing. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is legendary. Even the breakfast coffee is acceptable. The facilities in each room are very good as there is ample desk space for the late night worker, and the choice of bath or shower. The television channels are also good. In addition, this hotel is right next to a new shopping centre with a wealth of restaurant choices which I visited with great relish. The location is great as you are close to highways but not disturbed by the noise.

I said I was happy until I ate supper at the in-house cafe, so allow me to elaborate: I chose a "roasted mediterranean vegetable wrap with pesto" and a "passion fruit New York style baked cheesecake". I was sorely disappointed in my meal. To start with, it took ages, then when it came, the wrap was not filled with roasted mediterranean vegetables, but with some brand of frozen mixed vegetables - peas, sweetcorn, carrots and beans. The dessert was not much better - there was no passionfruit in sight and the cheesecake was decidedly frozen in the centre. What a shame!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
#21 of 73 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
5.3 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
0.9 mi away
Town Lodge Menlo Park
Town Lodge Menlo Park
#29 of 73 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
#16 of 73 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

Property: City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
Address: Corner Lynnwood and Daventry Roads | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new Lynnwood Bridge complex, City Lodge Lynnwood adds a much-needed business and leisure accommodation dimension to the eastern side of Pretoria. Its 205 tastefully decorated bedrooms are complemented by three board/meeting rooms, a coffee shop, a fitness room, a swimming pool and wireless internet throughout the hotel. The hotel is close to the world renowned CSIR, a short drive from the Union Buildings, Pretoria’s CBD and the city’s other cultural, shopping and entertainment facilities. It is also ideally situated for easy freeway access to Johannesburg, OR Tambo Airport and Polokwane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Lynnwood Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing